Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

martyr

This morning we had a missionary and his wife  share with us what they have seen God doing in Nigeria.  This is the third time that he has been with us.   Each time is better than the last time.  Why?  Because with each visit, I see the hand of the living God actively at work. 

Life where they were at in Nigeria is not even close to life in small town, rural Iowa.  I take for granted running water, for that matter even clean drinking water.  When was the last time you went to the sink and thought about the need to boil the water first? 

Then there is electricity.  I hate it when a storm knocks out the power.  Yet, for them, a short period of time when they have power is a huge thing. 

Oh, I have it so good.  Like right now I don’t feel like cooking (yup that isn’t a shock) and so Curt has gone to pick up pizza.  Hmm,  how good is that?

Well this morning the missionary shared with us some  pictures.  I love pictures.  The last one was of a group of people.  One of them was his dear friend – a native pastor.  

Here’s the thing that really got to me this morning.    I wasn’t expecting the story he shared  of his friend.   Here’s what happened.   A group of angry men surrounded his house.  (I could tell you what group they belong to but that isn’t really the issue).  He runs out of the house and trips in a hole in the ground.  The men surround him and beat him.  That isn’t enough though.  They then cut off his legs and his arms and set his body on fire.  This happened just last November. 

Our missionary speaker, fighting back the tears says, “I am going to miss my friend.”

Why did they kill him?  Why were those men so angry? 

This man  was proclaiming Jesus.  Yes, this man was a true martyr.  This wasn’t years and years ago.  It was just last November.   

I am a minister of the gospel.  I proclaim Jesus.  I have it so good. 

This mans murder was a sobering thought for me.   I have been struggling with some pretty heavy issues in my life lately.   Yet, all of them pale in comparison to what this man faced and what his family is facing without him. 

May I be about my Father’s business and not let minor inconveniences distract me.  After all, compared to eternity it is all pretty minor.  What isn’t minor is where people will spend eternity.

til next time

May 3, 2009 - Posted by | Pastor's wife, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. We should daily thank God for our blessings and seek to actively proclaim the gospel of Christ.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. I heard at church yesterday that Christianity is number one on the list of religions that are systematically persecuted. A story like this puts a “face” on that statistic. We forget how good we really have it.

    Comment by Cherie Bell | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  3. Curt – Amen

    Cherie – Yes that’s it – it puts a ‘face’ on the statistics. Hearing the missionary talk about working along side this man for eight years also had quite an impact on my life.

    Comment by Gloria | May 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

