Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

when thoughts are not fit to be spoken

Sometimes, many times, our thoughts are not fit to be spoken.  The problem comes in when we end up and speak them anyway.  I am discovering a whole new level of  the scripture – “Be still and know that I am God”   

Psalm118:24 “This is the day the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad in it.”  Making that choice can be a challenge some days.  Although a challenge that is by far worth the effort.

twisted tree A picture paints a thousand words right?  See this picture??  Now think menopausal!!  It pretty much looks like how I feel much of the time these days.

frazel cattail

Or how about this picture?  It could depict much of my battle with this ‘new adventure’.    

I do try to stay focused on whatsoever things are good, lovely, pure…..  I know that God will not allow more than I can handle with Him by my side.  I know that He is able to do more than I can dream.  I know that He is very much aware of all that is going on.  I know these things and still sometimes it gets the better of me for awhile.  

The thing I have noticed is that if I can remain silent and not give words to my thoughts, it passes much quicker.  Believe me I am all about it passing quickly.  This has reminded me that thoughts are just that –  thoughts.  The Bible tells us to take our thoughts captive.  By speaking out my thoughts I open a door for more of the same thoughts. 

Instead if I be still and rest in the knowledge that God is indeed God.  If I focus on scripture like this one- “May the God of hope fill me with all joy and peace as I trust in Him so that I may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (personalizing Rom 15:13)  Oh, those thoughts are so much better.  Those thoughts speak life into my situation and those thoughts are fit to be spoken. 

One day this too shall pass and I will be soaring as the eagles.eagle in flight

til next time  (thanks Tonya for the use of the pics — I love em)

May 29, 2009 - Posted by | menopause, perimenopause, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. what a great post.. the pictures do paint a thousand words, they are great pictures. I emphathize with how you are feeling, I am on HRT and tried cutting back, and wound resembling your first picture. Upped my dose again and feel much better now.

    you said:
    “I do try to stay focused on whatsoever things are good, lovely, pure….. I know that God will not give me more than I can handle with Him by my side.”

    Amen.. wonderful thoughts for all that comes our way and can take our mind from heavenly things that matter the most.

    Comment by Vicki | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. Vicki, thanks for your comments. HRT?

    I can’t take credit for these pictures. I have a dear friend who takes awesome pictures. She is gracious and lets me use them in my blog, I have the eagle picture framed and a couple coffee table books filled with her pictures. So many of her pictures tell a story.

    Comment by Gloria | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  3. hello Gloria..

    HRT = Hormone Replacement Therapy. it really helps you over the rough spots..

    Comment by Vicki | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  4. Thanks Vicki, I’ve wondered about whether or not medicine helps.

    Comment by Gloria | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  5. Can I claim that my occasional, long pauses before speaking are an attempt to determine if my thoughts are fit to be spoken?

    Comment by Pastor Curt | May 30, 2009 | Reply

  6. Curt – sure if that pause is followed by some form of comment LOL

    Comment by Gloria | May 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

