Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

murder – what happened to love your enemies?

I am a christian (a follower of Jesus Christ), a licensed minister, a preacher’s wife  and I don’t preach hate.  The murder of  George Tiller has gotten a lot of press.  It is a sad day when anyone attempts to be God and takes the life of another person. 

What was the killer’s motives?  What was he thinking?  I doubt we will ever truly know  those answers.  The thing I do know is that he was not acting on behalf of God who created all things. 

I am a christian and I don’t preach the end justifies the means!!  As a kid growing up, my daddy always was reminding me that  we don’t ‘hate’ people.  We do what we can to show the love of God to people.   We speak the truth, but we do it in love not judgment.   We hate sin.  Sin destroys people.  God will one day judge all people. We are not God.   My daddy was a wise godly man.

What does the Bible say about it?   Jesus tells me in Luke 6 :27 to love my enemies.   He goes on to spell it out further by telling me to do good to those who hate me, to bless those who curse me, and pray for those who mistreat me.   This is directed to all who call Jesus, Lord of their life.   

So tell me does that sound like hate to you?  Does this justify going into a church and murdering anyone?  Yet there are already those who are trying to lump all christians into the category of this one man’s actions.   

I will continue to preach against sin.  As I said, sin destroys people.  It destroys relationships.  It has long lasting consequences.  When is the last time you heard a person rejoicing because their trusted mate just threw away their marriage on an affair? (I have a friend who still can’t stop the tears when speaking of her husband’s betrayal)   Or the mother who says, ‘Yippee, my son is addicted to meth?’  Sin hurts.   So yes, I will continue to preach against sin.  That is not hate.

 I will also continue to pray for those who see no wrong in taking the life of a baby.   My boys were born premature.  The thought that  a doctor  would consider aborted them at that stage of my pregnancy breaks my heart.  My prayers are also with all those women who felt life inside them and for reasons maybe known only to them, choose to end that life.  Yes I pray for God to bring healing and restoration.

til next time

June 1, 2009 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, Pastor's wife, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I was really surprised by this post. You seem like a logical, well-reasoned, genuinely good person. Perhaps if I’d met someone like you in my past, things might have turned out differently.
    I applaud you.

    Comment by p of v | June 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. The faith is definitely about love, however sadly many individuals under the label of Christianity promote hate… this makes our witness that much more important.

    Comment by freestyle | June 1, 2009 | Reply

  3. p of v thanks for stopping by. Not sure what you mean by ‘turned out differently’ but if it has to do with God, I hope that you will take another look at the teachings of Jesus. It’s never too late to begin again.
    This is a quote I have taped to my monitor. “Though no one can go back and make a brand new start, anyone can start from now and make a brand new ending.” God’s love and mercies are new every morning.

    Comment by Gloria | June 1, 2009 | Reply

  4. freestyle, yes, that is sad but true. How it must grieve the heart of God. Yes, it is important that we preach the Gospel at all times – using words if necessary.

    Comment by Gloria | June 1, 2009 | Reply

  5. It saddens me when the message about the love of God gets twisted into a message of hate. Thank you for reaffirming that Christians are called to love all people.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | June 2, 2009 | Reply

  6. My momma always said. “Hate the sin, Love the sinner” I have friends that know I don’t agree with their lifestyle,but they know that I love them. I don’t have to agree with their lifestyle. It’s my job as a Christian to love them.

    Comment by Tonya Jo | June 2, 2009 | Reply

  7. Tonya Jo – you are right on!!!

    Comment by Gloria | June 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

