Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

all you need is love, love, love

Long ago and far away a group that called themselves the Beatles sang a catchy little tune.   “Love, love, love, love …..” (nine loves to be exact) is how the Beatles started it.  They were on to something. 

The way we treat people is a glimpse into our character.  What would the world look like if people walked in love instead of :   selfishness, hatred, bitterness, arrogance, indifference, criticism, greed, and the list could go on.

I’d love to say that the list mentioned isn’t descriptive of christians but the truth is that many christians fall into the trap of walking void of love.   Why?  I don’t think it is because they aren’t a christian, although that is the case sometimes.  Rather I think that  it has to do with a lack of making a conscious effort to walk in love. 

Love on purpose.  Each day finds me faced with many opportunities to love on purpose.  I have found that if I don’t make it a priority, if I don’t think about my actions, if I don’t purpose to walk in love, then it is so easy to be swayed by the attitudes and negativity that is swarming all around me. 

There is a prayer that I pray often and had my children’s church kids memorize it.  It is taken from Psalms and it goes like this.  “May the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable in Your sight.  O Lord my Rock and my Redeemer.”    (Psalm 19:14)

 How do I walk in love?  Out of the heart the mouth speaks.  If I have bitterness or anger towards someone, even if I am saying the right things it is evident  that something isn’t right.  So I must first deal with my heart issues.  People can spot insincerity quite easily. 

When someone has hurt me, how do I show them love?  

First, by not holding on to or nursing a grudge.  Second, by not allowing a spirit of offense to take root.  (Psalm 119:165)  Along that line,  I make a choice to forgive.  Unforgiveness really only hurts me.  (side note — choosing to forgive doesn’t mean I continue to place myself in a pathway to be hurt over and over.  Boundaries need to be established.  Distancing myself from the person is  not a bad thing.)  Finally, I ask God to give me His eyes so I can see the person as He sees them.  People matter to God.  God loves people period!!  As His representative (anyone who calls themselves a christian is just that) people better matter to me.  And they do!!!

So the way I treat someone reflects on what kind of person I am.  More importantly the way I treat  those who mistreat me really speaks loudly.    I am reminded that Jesus treated Judas just the same as the rest of the disciples.   Yes, He washed Judas’ feet  knowing Judas would soon betray Him. 

 How many problems would disappear if people would just walk in love?  When Jesus was asked about the greatest commandment His response was that we  love the Lord thy God will ALL our heart, soul, and mind.  (Matt 22:37)   Jesus followed that with a second commandment to love your neighbor as yourself.  (Matt 22:39)  

All we need is love.  Love is all we need.

So the Beetles had it right – sort of.  All we need is love.  For God so LOVED the world that He gave……  The only way I can really love people is by letting the love of God flow through me.  All I need is God’s love!  I have that and so much more!

til next time

June 4, 2009 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, relationships, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. God can help us to love people as he loves them.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | June 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

