Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

hang on

Life is good and I have the t-shirt to prove it.  (Or maybe I have the t-shirt to remind myself of the truth of that statement)   One of Curt’s favorite sayings is ‘God is good.  Life is good.  Life can be hard, but God is good.’

Life is meant to be enjoyed.  Jesus said he came to give us the abundant life.  All work and no play is not right.  All play and no work is equally not right.  A balance of work and play — just like the story of Goldilocks — it is just right!!

camping 014

I haven’t done very well in getting back wiggle room in my schedule.  In fact, sometimes it really feels like I am holding on with all the strength that I can muster up.  Kind of like this picture I took of Andrew.  Please note the tension in his muscles. Certainly not a relaxed pose.   This is not what a swing set was designed for.  *~*   A crazy busy schedule is not what life was designed for either.  The difference between the two is that Andrew enjoys anything that taxes his muscles.  I, on the other hand, don’t enjoy a stress filled life.

camping 017

Here is another shot taken that night.  The contrast between the two shots was enlightening to me.  In this one, he is still using his muscles.  However, there is a relaxation that is evident in the rest of his body language.  Oh, his arms are holding up the same amount of weight but there is a difference.  It is almost as if he is letting go of the stress involved and just hanging there.

Hmm, is it possible to let go of the stress of life and just hang on?  Or could it be that the lesson here is to take time to just ‘hang there’ and not be in such a hurry to do the next thing on the agenda?   

I could never shimmy up that pole using just my arms.  Truly I couldn’t do it using ever part of me.  I wouldn’t be crazy enough to even try.  Yet I find myself constantly trying to fit more into my schedule – to pick up one more task, to schedule one more appointment, to make one more phone call, to start one more project (church office is in need of  painting – any takers?)

My sister told me the other day that mom can come stay anytime now.  My schedule is so full that the soonest I can get her here is the middle of August.  How crazy is that?

On a side note – Today I found out that a fellow pastor doesn’t have an answering machine connected to his land line.  He has a cell phone but just one person at the church has it.   Yet this man is teetering on burn out.   This is not what ministry is all about.  How tradgic that he feels that he has to shut people out.   After all ministry is first and foremost about people.

Lord help me to bring balance back into my schedule.   Help me to ‘hang on’ and relax.

til next time

July 14, 2009 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, Pastor's wife | , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Good post!!

    Comment by Pastor Curt | July 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

