Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

got my attention

Two things happened back to back yesterday that got my attention.  My calendar thought for the day went like this:  

Happiness is inward and not outward; And so it does not depend on what we have, but on what we are.   (Henry Van Dyke)

Later one of the guys on the radio (don’t remember which guy) made this statement.

“If your life lacks joy – check your attitude.”

Hmmm coincidence?  Or could it be just maybe that my attitude needed an adjustment?

Happiness is not dependant upon our external circumstances but our internal relationship with Christ.  (my wise husband)

I guess it shouldn’t surprise me that after a week of vacation, that ended with me wanting more (not all vacations are like that), I would have to deal with needing an attitude adjustment.

til next time

August 5, 2009 - Posted by | life lessons, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. What’s it mean when every time you hear the reference to “checking your attitude” in correlation to joy you get a mental image of a charicature of somebody saying “Well, if you’d remove your hand from the fire it won’t hurt so much” where the one saying that is holding a knife plunged into the back of the person he’s telling it to and it appears the reason the person’s hand is in the fire is because that’s where it landed as he plunged foreward as a result of the stab in the back? Somehow, that is not the mental image I would expect to have come to mind at a “check your attitude” comment.

    Comment by LisaB | August 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. Lisa, that is quite the image – yikes. Although now that you bring up the image I can see how it could fit when someone tells me to ‘check my attitude’. Especially if they are in any way involved in the attitude I am having. However in this case since it was radio and not personally directed at me – God used it to get my attention to my attitude and He does that in love wanting me to enjoy the life that He has given me. I much prefer God telling me to ‘check’ than other people.
    Hey welcome back from the land of vacation. You might be in the same boat as me huh? Not wanting vacation to end!!

    Comment by Gloria | August 5, 2009 | Reply

    • Maybe I am in the same boat. LOL (sorry, not trying to make light of your meaning, it’s just for some reason that phrase suddenly struck funny to me given your usual view of boating and the fact that I was overnighting at a lake on my vacation…the irony…ok, so maybe I’m a little weird and my mind isn’t fully back from vacation yet…)

      ANYWAY…Vacations always seem to be way too short, but I imagine if they were longer it would just make it that much harder to plunge back into the “daily grind”. It’s funny, even though some attitude checks may be in order in some areas, it amazes me how, after a much needed break, it makes some other areas just a bit easier to deal with. What was getting under the skin before kinda rolls off a little more like it ought to have been doing all along. Maybe some of the “joy robbing” is due to the attitude and maybe sometimes some of it is God’s way of trying to nudge us toward a much needed break, like we haven’t been keeping the sabbath command well enough and He’s encouraging us toward it for our own good. Of course, that could just be my mind desperately trying to conjure up an excuse for another vacation sooner rather than later. I wonder if some kids would find vacations so “boring” if they got them as infrequently as most adults. Enjoy those breaks while you can kids! They don’t last as long as you think!

      Comment by LisaB | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. I think that you are on to something. Let’s see how well it works out.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  4. Lisa – “boat” – now that you mention it that probably wasn’t the best image word 🙂 that is something that is not relaxing at all 🙂 unless of course it is a pantoon boat 🙂 That is it is not relaxing for me or anyone who may be fortunate enough to be boating with me – or is that unfortunate??? Oy!!
    the sabbath rest — there are truly benefits in that. man was not created for the sabbath but the sabbath for man.
    speaking of which tomorrow is my day off!!!!! Yes!!!!

    Comment by Gloria | August 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

