Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

scheduling down time

There are things in my life that just radiate warmth and contentment.

A gentle rain
Laundry blowing in the breeze
Curled up with a good book and a blanket
Riding the motorcycle on a deserted highway
Listening to the wood crackle in the fireplace
Walking in fresh fallen snow
Laughing with friends
Swinging in the sunshine or pretty much any weather
Spending an evening at home with the family
A cup of hot tea
The smell of lilacs

The key is to remember to take time to step aside from the daily list of things that need attention and ‘smell the roses’.    God’s beauty is all around.  His fingerprints are everywhere.

Sure I would like to blame my crazy schedule or my husband or the demands that ‘seem’ to loom over my head.  The truth is though, that it’s up to me to decide whether or not I am going to take some time each day to relax. 

People who have a tendency to work ‘all the time’ must make down time part of their schedule each day or it just doesn’t happen.  I know this from personal experience. 

Yet knowing and doing are two different things. 

A life lesson that I have learned, yet find myself learning over again, is that all work and no play (down time) makes Gloria a very stressed out person.  This is not an example of the life that God has for each of His children.

So today I had breakfast on my swing.  By then my first load of laundry was ready to hang on the line (which is not considered work to me — I enjoy it that much).  Now I am going to go have a cup of tea on my swing and read some of a wonderful book “When Women Long for Rest”  by Cindi McMenamin. 

Psalm 46:10 “Be still and know that I am God.”  I love the translation that puts it this way “Cease striving and know that I am God.”

What are you doing today about down time? 

til next time

September 5, 2009 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, life lessons | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Let’s not be in a hurry for that fresh fallen snow!

    Comment by Pastor Curt | September 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. “What are you doing today about down time? ”

    Why reading your blog of course silly! 😉

    Comment by LisaB | September 8, 2009 | Reply

  3. no hurry for snow but it is great to be the first person to walk in it 🙂

    LOL Lisa.

    Comment by Gloria | September 9, 2009 | Reply

  4. Love you list! It relaxes me just to read it.

    Comment by Cherie Bell | September 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

