Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

letting go

How a church treats a minister’s children speaks so very loudly to the minister.   Surrounded by friends I made it through this day.    I am so grateful for the love and support that was evident this moring.   Curt and I are blessed. 

When I woke up this morning a part of me certainly wanted to just stay in bed.  Another part of me wanted to capture every moment.  Today was the church’s send off party for Andrew.  By this time next week he will be in Minnesota and our lives will have turned a corner.     

There are so many emotions that I struggle with and am not doing a good job of  dealing with.  Talk about emotional overload.  In less than a week we will be empty nesters.  We haven’t heard about Curt’s ct test.  Then add to this  that I haven’t fully dealt with the realization of my mom’s health issues.  Furthermore, my body can’t decide if it is menopausal or just worn out. 

 There were times during worship this morning where I just stood there with my eyes closed listening to my son sing.  I can’t imagine what next week will be like when he is not there.  Oh, I am trying to get a grip and maintain some semblance of sanity.  My head and my heart are just not in tune with each other. 

It was a full Sunday.    Rangers

There was an award’s ceremony for the Rangers.  

Andrew was given a plaque for his years of service as commander. 

 

susan and Hannah singingSusan and Hannah sang “Find Your Wings” by Mark Harris.   

Susan, I know that this was not an easy thing for you to do but it meant more than words can say.  

Hannah I am so glad that you sang with her.  I may have cried through the whole thing but I will always remember it.  curt preaching

Curt preached a powerful message on “Having Enough – enough time, resources, energy etc to accomplish God’s plan for our lives.   

The problem comes in when we attempt to do things in our own strength, when we step out of the will of God, when we are trying to do more than what God intends for us to do, when we aren’t content with what we have,  when better, bigger, more is our focus and not God…..

Need vs want was addressed.  This is a key element to living within your means.    Great message honey.  Don’t always want to hear it but am so grateful to not be drowning in debt.

DAd and AW 

Two peas in a pod.

Like father like son. 

 

 

 

humoring me

 

Here is Andrew humoring me.  I love pics 🙂 

cookie

 

 

 

 

harley cake

 

Andrew told us that if we bought him a Harley he would not move.  So we did just that.  Here is his Harley!   While  he does acknowledge that it is a very detailed model, the answer was still no.  LOL

 

“How am I doing?”  I’m trying to stay positive.   I am holding on tightly to my trust in God that He will guide my children and see Curt and I through this household change. 

til next time

October 4, 2009 - Posted by | dementia, living in a fish bowl, relationships | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Wow! They look more like brothers. You are so right about not trying to do things in our own strength.

    I blog about how men can be better husbands to their wives. I hope you all will check it out when you have a chance.

    http://whatsheneedsfromyou.wordpress.com

    Thanks,

    Comment by Ken Kendall | October 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. Gloria, our church family has been very supportive over the years, and I trust that support will continue through these times of change.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | October 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. Thanks for stopping by Ken. I will be checking out your blog or maybe I should see to it that my husband checks out your blog 🙂

    The support and love of a church family is not something that happens everywhere. We are blessed.

    Comment by Gloria | October 5, 2009 | Reply

  4. Loved your blog, Gloria! I agree with Ken about not trying to do things in our own strength. I’m so glad that we have Jesus to go to who is our strength!

    Comment by blog4jesus2 | October 9, 2009 | Reply

  5. bog4jesus2 – me too!
    In our weakness He is strong. Andrew left yesterday. It was …….. I don’t even know yet how to put it in words.

    Comment by Gloria | October 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

