Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

moving day

saying goodbye 015

Moving day — excitement and sadness all mixed up together. 

It was harder than I imagined and I had expected it to be quite difficult. 

I am so grateful that I didn’t face this alone.  I thought of my mother and how she had to face my move by herself  (my father had died just 3 short months before my move.) 

breakfast

The morning of Andrew’s move we met for breakfast with our long time family friends.  Our kids have grown up together and are pretty much like siblings.  Megan is the closest thing to a sister the boys have. 

When we moved to Iowa, I met Julie at my first job.  It was one of those God moments.  Some people walk into our lives and we are forever changed.  I told Megan the other day that everyone should have a ‘Julie’ in their life. 

saying goodbye 019When we all got together before Chris moved Andrew had to work and so he couldn’t be there.  This time Chris couldn’t be there.   Times are changing.

So many memories – so many different things to laugh about and all the inside jokes. 

cave 12  Here is one of my favorite photos of the four of them.  It was at Meg’s graduation. 

I miss those days.  I still find myself forgetting to turn the kitchen light off when I go to bed.  (Last one in shut the kitchen light off and turned the night light on – usually that ended up being Andrew.)

I’ve been given much grief over the years about my apron strings.   Truth is that our boys had a lot of freedom growing up.   Apron strings — not so much.  Involved and taking an active role in their lives as they grew up — yes very much guilty of that.

It could have been harder.  Since they are twins they both could have left at the same time.  I am grateful that did not happen.  God does know what we can handle.

I know that it is a good thing and this is the way it is meant to be.  I know that this is part of life.  Yet what I know and what I feel just can’t seem to get on the same page. 

 til next time

October 15, 2009 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, living in a fish bowl, twins | , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. It was a tough day for us, an exciting day for him.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | October 16, 2009 | Reply

  2. […] On a side note, we had a God moment while we were out looking at leaves.  We stopped at an apple orchard and to our surprise ran into friends.     You might recognize Julie (on the left) from the moving day. […]

    Pingback by Living Life in a Fish Bowl! | October 24, 2009 | Reply

  3. […] mother of the groom survival kit “From diapers to drivers licenses to weddings! wow!  We’ve been through it all together.  Just want you to know – I still got your back girlfriend!  This little something is a “Mother of the groom” kit.   (for more on my dear friend Julie – click here) […]

    Pingback by mother of the groom survival kit « Living Life in a Fish Bowl! | May 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

