Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

bad hair day

Some days are just bad hair days.  A good rule to follow is ‘don’t do anything drastic -wait a day’  — things can look completely different if you just give yourself a day.

Today was not one of those ‘wait’ days.

In our small town we have plenty of places to go to get your hair cut.  I’ve tried many of them.  It really gets under my skin when I have paid for a hair cut only to get home and have to ‘fix’ the cut. 

So a few years ago I returned to cutting my own hair.  I have naturally curly hair and it surprises me just how many beauticians don’t have a clue how to cut it. 

When I was a kid I would watch my mom cut my brother’s hair.  He has a lot of hair.  Hair cuts fascinated me.  So one day I took a scissors to my own hair.  Hmmm, not bad.

Thus began my journey into hair cutting. 

I used this ‘talent’ during my college years.    I soon had more hair cuts than I wanted.  Yet it was fun!

I cut my boy’s hair until it was no longer ‘cool’ to have a hair cut by your mom.  It was frustrating though.  Many times I had to fix their paid for hair cut. 

It is a bit difficult to cut the back of one’s own head.  Doable but difficult, so for the past few years I have had Curt  ‘help’ me cut my hair.  He is capable of cutting a straight or curved line (depending on what I wanted at the time).  It saved me a lot of time. 

Enter this morning — I step out of the norm and ask him to do something just a bit different.  I draw a diagram for him and explain it in detail.  What I am looking for him to do is a U shaped cut – then I will do the rest. 

What I got did not resemble a U.  He cut 3 to 5  inches  off the bottom.    I didn’t want shoulder length hair.  I didn’t want to lose my long hair.  I just wanted my sides shorter.    I was just having a bad hair day.

The really good thing about all of this is that it has taken my mind off of the really big things that are going on right now.  It has indeed been a diversion from the intensity of  emotions that seem to come at me from all sides (empty nest, missing my boys, dementia, drama).

Hmmm, will tomorrow be another bad hair day?  If so, what will I do?

til next time

October 20, 2009 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff | , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Had I finished my morning coffee? Can I blame the mistake on low caffiene levels?

    Comment by Pastor Curt | October 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

