Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

agenda – did he go to far?

It seems that no matter what situation I may find myself in, there are those who have an agenda.  Now a lot of times this isn’t a problem.      

For example, I go to work and my boss’ agenda is that I work.  (I did tell him today that I would rather operate in the comic relief department but since that wasn’t an option then I would continue doing my job.)  As a christian I should not only do my job but do it with excellence! 

It bothers me when people have hidden agendas.  It bothers me when I come away from something feeling like I have been manipulated or at least that was the idea.   

God does not have a hidden agenda.  His plan is that ALL would come to accept the free gift of salvation that His Son paid the price for.   His agenda is that we (christians) would be His vessel that He could use to reach out to those who are misguided, hurting, lost, angry and/or just messed up.   

So I am listening to the Christian radio station the other day and I hear this interview with a minister that gave the opening prayer at the Iowa House of Representatives.  The outcome of his prayer is that future ministers will now have to submit their prayer ahead of time for approval.  Censorship? or did he go to far?   Click here to check out “Censor public prayer

Sometimes we, in our zeal for Christ, can go to far.  Did he?  I don’t know.  The agenda was to open the meeting in prayer.  This is our government, they certainly don’t need to allow that to continue.  What was this pastor’s agenda?  I don’t know.  Can we pray a sincere prayer without bein”g offensive?  Do we even care if we are offensive?  Should we care? 

When I am talking with someone who is clearly living in sin and knows it, I don’t focus on that sin.  I focus on who my Jesus is and what He means to me.    You see if they can grasp even a tiny portion of what that is, then maybe, just maybe they will want to know more about who this Jesus is that makes my life so full and complete. 

til next time

some have asked me about comments — there is a place at the bottom of this post that says comments — all you need to do is click there and enter your email address (not published)  and share you thoughts

January 21, 2010 - Posted by | spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. yes this is the place for comments 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | January 21, 2010 | Reply

  2. Are you sure the “comments” comment wasn’t a hidden agenda for getting more comments? ;P

    Actually, that’s another thing that can be frustrating, speaking of agendas, when there is no conscious hidden agenda but somebody takes the words said and twist them around to mean something else so as to make it look and sound like there’s an agenda there that doesn’t even exist.

    Comment by LisaB | January 21, 2010 | Reply

  3. Lisa — nothing hidden about that one 🙂 I enjoy reading what others have to say.

    I agree with you on that one. People twisting things is just down right aggravating. Sometimes, though, it is miscommunication – sometimes it is just people with their own agenda trying to make someone else look bad.

    Comment by Gloria | January 22, 2010 | Reply

  4. Whoa….hadn’t heard about that news! Thanks for the heads up…I am with you in your perspective and have often felt that “prayers” were addressing the “audience” more than the “Almighty.” I find, as a minister, that it is sometimes tempting to preach during the prayer and have taken to often writing public prayers out before hand. I do believe in extemporaneous prayer…but written prayers have their place, too. However, I wouldn’t want a legislator waiting to approve it. Wow…

    Comment by Ruthie Oberg | January 22, 2010 | Reply

    • In this case he had written out his prayer before hand. He said that it was 3 minutes long. I just listened to his interview again. I may request a copy of his prayer as he said that he would send it. He is guessing at the reference to marriage as one man and one woman as the possible problem democrats had with it – that and closing in Jesus name.

      It is a slippery slope that we are on if they can get away with requiring approval for the wording of public prayer – don’t even want to think about where that will lead.

      On the other hand, I also don’t think that prayer is the time to address the ‘audience’. Prayer is our conversation with God and should convey our deep love and trust in Him.

      If you should decide to blog on this I look forward to reading it.

      Comment by Gloria | January 22, 2010 | Reply

  5. I prefer to accept things at face value, but I know that there are sometimes hidden motives. It is not good to be naive, nor is it good to be overly suspicious.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | January 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

