Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

something has to change

Any of these sound familiar?

Something has got to change!

I don’t know how much longer I can do this?

All I do is work, work, work.

How much more of this can I take?

I don’t have time for me.

Or maybe something a bit more spiritual –

God does not call  His children to burn out.

This is not the abundant life the Bible talks about.

I must be doing something right cuz the devil won’t leave me alone.

Ok, so I have said all of the above at one time or another.  

Long about last April hubby found me starting to use the phrase “Something has got to change”  quite a bit. 

I am all about getting into the solution not wallowing in the problem.  Yet I hadn’t a clue what that solution was, so I found myself wallowing.   Some days were much more difficult than others – pretty much that is how life is.  Good days – not so good days.

I chalked it up to pre-menopausal issues.  It was a viable excuse.  Yet I have heard that this (menopause) can go on for years.  I certainly did not want to  battle such emotional days – at least not in the ineffective way that I found myself dealing with them. 

I began to look at peace very closely.  During my menopausal days it was my peace that was out of whack.  Stress level high – peace level low.

A few months back I begin to entertain the idea of going part-time at work.  It would open up some much needed time.  Yet I didn’t want to give up sick time, holiday pay, etc.   I couldn’t see past the NEED for my income so I brushed it off, gave myself a good pep talk and carried on.

One day at work (happened to be working on my day off)  it was like God removed the blinders to my problem and clarity landed.  Looking back I think He was trying to do that all along, but it didn’t make sense to me and so I would brush it off.   

Finally it became crystal clear that I was working too much.  I am older now (ugh I never thought I’d use such a sentence) but it is true.  So with age should come maturity. You’d think with all this maturity I would remember that God does things His way.

It still did not make sense to me – oh it was clear alright just didn’t work out  on paper.  In fact, it made even less sense because Curt’s salary has been drastically reduced the last 3 months.  My income is needed now more than ever.  Yet, it was crystal clear to me.  A weight had been lifted.   I would talk with doctor about going part-time.

In making that decision many other issues were also settled.  It was kind of like a domino effect.   It can be easy to get out of balance.  For me it is always in the area of ‘doing too much’.    It is true, by the way, God does not want His kids to burn out.

I had my review last week.  It was amazing.   All I can say is that God showed up and handled it.  (I am grateful that I work for a boss who also loves God).  He did ask me to give him one more week as full-time.  That was a hard week because I wanted to shout it from the rafters, but I knew that he needed to be the one to tell my supervisor. 

Today I go to work and he has indeed talked with my supervisor so now it is official.  My first week as a part timer.  Yes, I have been doing a happy dance. 

How will the budget work out?  I don’t know, but I know God and He will make a way.  I guess this is my next step of faith in the journey of life.

til next time

January 25, 2010 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, perimenopause | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. wow, congrats! I agree this will be a good thing! What hours will you be working???

    Comment by Tonya | January 25, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks 🙂 I really really wanted to tell you sooner but Dr needed to tell Sharon first.
      Monday, Tuesday and Thursday 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | January 26, 2010 | Reply

  2. Congratulations 🙂

    Comment by tonya | January 25, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Tonya and thanks for keeping me in your prayers.

      Comment by Gloria | January 26, 2010 | Reply

  3. It will work out. I know how to budget, and you are disciplined enough to stick with a budget. Plus, more importantly, God will provide enough for our needs, and many of our wants.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | January 26, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks hon — did I mention I really really really don’t want to go back to pinching pennies. 🙂 Turth is though that I have seen God come through in all sorts of ways and I know that I know that He is greater than all this financial stuff. Sorry it took me so long to ‘get it’ and go to part time.

      Comment by Gloria | January 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

