Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

putting the pieces together

Sometimes life can look like this pile of puzzle pieces.   Everything can seem all jumbled together.  I am a wife, mother, friend, pastor’s wife, pastor, worship leader, co-worker, daughter, sister, aunt, ……..  At any given moment there can be a multitude of things going on and things needing attention.  Life can be messy.  Trying to balance it all can be overwhelming.

The God factor — God takes the pieces of my life and fits them all together.  There are times I certainly don’t see how anything good can come from a particular situation but then again I am not God.   What I do know is that He brings purpose, peace and beauty. 

When you take just one piece of the puzzle by itself, it doesn’t tell the whole story.   A trap that many fall into is to fixate on that one thing.  Worry and fear can take over.  ‘What ifs’ aren’t far behind.

God factor —  no matter what is happening I am never alone.   Fear, worry and ‘what ifs’ aren’t from God.  God says to give Him my cares and concerns and He will make a way where it seems there is no way.

The first thing I do when putting a puzzle together is the border.  It is important to remember to create a border around my life.  (I sometimes call it a margin.)  This border gives me breathing room.  It is not wise to pack my schedule so full that enjoyment goes out the window. 

God factor – He wants us to have life and life abundantly!   He is not out to make my life miserable.  It is just the opposite.   God gives to those who trust Him a joy that nothing can take away.   He pours in peace when difficulties come.  His strength has carried me on many occasions.  God is good!

  This is the finished picture.   Beauty, peace and warmth all wrapped up in a picture.

Life is not finished.  Yet, as I look back over my life I can see God’s fingerprints all through out my life.  The ‘chance meetings’   that altered the course of my life (by the way I don’t believe in happenstance – God directs my steps – it isn’t by chance),  the situations that turned around to be the best possible thing that could have happened, and all of the people I have had the privilege to call friend – how God has used and is using them to shape my life.   

til next time

February 2, 2010 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, living in a fish bowl | , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. WOW! GREAT illustration and I love the way you used the pictures to illustrate each point. Fantastic writing. =)

    Comment by Ruthie Oberg | February 2, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Ruthie 🙂 It had been a long time since I had put a puzzle together so I thought it picture worthy.

      Comment by Gloria | February 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. It is nice when we are able to recognize the patterns. When we cannot see with our minds, we must see with our faith.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | February 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

