Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

innocent lamb entering the den of wolves (?)

I’ve been banned from an atheist’s blog site. 

Occasionally I find a few minutes to read random blogs.  I was reading some that were tagged Christianity.   Christianity – not Atheist!!  I happened upon one that, once there I realized that “this ain’t Kansas anymore”.   

I left a comment expressing who my God was.   This led to an exchange of 50 or so comments before I was banned.  (Note to self — when entering other blogs see if there is a comment policy page.  I didn’t even know there was such a thing until he banned me.  Personally, I think I was getting to him.) 

I guess it is alright to use profanity, vulgarity and name calling  but prayer is what scares him??

My crime  — My response to  a quite vulgar, profane man who called ‘christians’ (and since I was the only one on this site speaking for christianity, of course I took it personally) deluded, brainwashed puppets and referred to God as something any decent man would not put down in print about anyone.    This is what got  me banned.

Here is my comment:  

“I don’t even know how to respond to this. Just a little more anger directed at me than I care to respond to. If i am a deluded, brain washed puppet as you claim then I am the most peaceful, content, joyful, full of life puppet around!!!! You, my friend have just gone to the top of my prayer list. Only God can replace such hatred in your heart.”

At which point I was banned.  It was alright for everyone else to share their view and opinion, to use profanity and name calling — kind of reminded me of  bullies on a playground – but any mention of prayer and the owner runs scared.   I need to mention though that not everyone was resorting to name calling or profanity.  You know how it is on playgrounds — there always have to be a few who are mean  but many aren’t. 

Oh, in his defense, the author of the site had listed in his comment policy that prayer would get you banned.  Here is my question, does he really think that the only time Christians pray is when they say they are going to?  So if he can stop them from saying it on his blog, then he has succeeded in stopping them from praying for him or anyone else making comments?  I was praying the moment I saw his poster. 

The sad thing for me is that up to that point, for the most part, the conversation was worth my time.    When was the last time you talked with someone who doesn’t believe there is a God?     It is a whole different ball game.  It is an education into the mind of some who call themselves atheist or agnostic.  I, however, will not make the same mistake that Mark has.  I will not lump all atheists or agnostics into a category based on what they have said and done. 

So to ‘HeHe’ who referred to me as the “innocent lamb entering the den of wolves” I want to thank you for your kind words that you wrote after I was banned and to remind you that christians are  not innocent but forgiven and loved by the Creator of the Universe. 

God is my strength and my ever-present help in any situation.    God’s love, grace and mercy are available to anyone.

 til next time

February 3, 2010 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , ,

24 Comments »

  1. It sounds like your light was shining in a dark place.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | February 4, 2010 | Reply

  2. Gloria, I’m a Christian who’s been following that atheist blog for awhile now. I found it a few months ago while reading an article on Richard Dawkins and the new, more militant atheist movement. I’ve never commented there, though–I know I’d just get too upset to make a coherent argument after awhile. Your comments were great–you stayed calm, stated your case, and impressed a couple of the regulars there with your courtesy and kindness. I think that’s what got under Mark’s skin more than anything else. When some of his regular readers seemed willing to chat with you, he shut you down. He got questioned on it, too. I’m waiting for him to ban ‘HeHe’ now!

    Comment by Loveday | February 4, 2010 | Reply

    • Loveday – thanks for commenting. It is nice to hear from someone who also was reading the blog comments I referred to. I am glad you took the time to follow the trail back to my blog and then to leave me a comment. It has truly encouraged me.

      They can deny it and say whatever they like but for some of them a lot of anger is coming through. It does surprise me that a God, they don’t believe exists, can get them so worked up. Ah, but as you and I know, God does exist.

      Have a great day!!!!

      Comment by Gloria | February 4, 2010 | Reply

  3. Your religion is based on lies.
    Open your eyes and explore the origins of your religion.
    Christianity was created by Emperor Constantine by combining Judaism with the Mithra cult (which is where the bulk of christian myths and practices come from).

    It doesn’t take much to find the truth, but the bible holds no truths…

    Comment by Adminus | February 4, 2010 | Reply

    • Adminus — My religion is based on my relationship with God through Christ Jesus His Son. The Bible is the inspired Word of God, it has more power than you realize. You don’t have to agree with me but please continue to keep comments clean. Emperor Constantine did not write the Bible. The doctrines of Christianity doesn’t need outside influence from some myth. I checked into this cult that you mentioned and this is what I found.

      The question – did Christianity borrow from the cult of Mithra?
      The Old Testament depicts the prophetic teachings of Jesus. The doctrines of Chrisianity are there–born of a virgin (Isa 7:14), son of God (Zech 12:10), crucified (Psalm 22) atonement for sins by blood (Lev 17:11) risen from the dead (Psalm 16:10) and salvation through faith(Hab. 2:4). It was all right there — spoken of long before it happened.

      The writers of the gospels accurately recorded Christ’s life. They wrote what Jesus taught as well as record events such as His life, death and resurrection. There was no need for fabrication or to borrow from some myth, they recorded history. They were living it. Of the disciples (minus Judas) all but one of them was martyred. Now wouldn’t that be a high price to pay if you were making it up? Even as some of the leaders of that day didn’t want to accept it, so today there are many who don’t want to accept it. That is why they guarded the tomb so closely. Truth prevails and it won out that time too.

      People of that day created gods related to nature, related to events – such as life, death and “resurrection” found in crops, cattle and on to human life. However a huge difference is in reading the Old Testament God comes on the scene with miracles and prophetic utterances. He is involved. Add to that the archaeological evidence verifying Old Testament cities and events and you no longer can compare it to any myth of that day.
      The New testament themes were developed in the Old Testament.

      Comment by Gloria | February 4, 2010 | Reply

      • Furthermore hundreds of years before Constantine came on the scene Christians were being martyred for their faith. So how could he be the author in anyone’s understanding?

        Comment by Gloria | February 4, 2010

  4. Interesting. Adminus made a statement. “Your religion is based on lies.” Then he/she attempted to support that statement with “Christianity was created by Constantine…”. Which Gloria disproved with the evidence of Christian martyrdom prior to Constantine which suggests that one cannot create something that exists prior to his/her own existence. It is good and appreciated that Adminus attempted to support his/her claim even if, in this example, it did not hold.

    Adminus interjected the request or order (depending how one interprets that) to “Open your eyes and explore the origins of your religion.”

    Curious. Just how much exploration into the origins of the religion did Adminus in fact do for him/herself in order to feel qualified to make the initial accusation? Perhaps it is Adminus who needs to “explore the origins” of the religion a bit more closely. There is apparently enough interest in the origins to try to use them as a support to his/her claim.

    Closer investigation into it might prove to be both enlightening and interesting, not to mention might help to make one better prepared to argue the point.

    I recommend checking out “The Evidence that Deserves a Verdict” by Josh McDowell. If I am remembering correctly, it is a collection of evidence that Mr McDowell had collected in his attempt to create an argument to disprove, in a way that would hold up in a court of law, a certain Christian belief or claim. He ended up surprised by his findings.

    If you do not find the “evidence” you seek to support your belief it may, at the very least, help you to understand better why the other side is so adamantly attached to their belief in more than just a “blind faith” manner.

    When it comes down to it Christianity IS a faith-based religion and faith by definition is belief in something without the evidence of it being seen. What drives that faith may vary from person to person but that faith is no less real for the one who believes than for the one who needs to burn their hand on the proverbial burner before they will believe that it is hot.

    Yes, there are a lot of lies out there about Christianity and the apparent origins of it do seem to be quite mired in contraversy, however, until you’ve actually read the Bible for yourself and studied for yourself the supposed truths or lies held in it you may wish to be careful when making blanket accusations. Even the most intelligent person can be made to appear foolish when prone to hasty remarks and poorly collected “evidence” and the more hostile the person seems to be in regard to a topic that is held quite dear to another the more inclined the other party will be to, in essence, fight back with sharp words of their own.

    “As charcoal is to burning coals, and wood to fire, So is a contentious man to kindle strife.” Proverb 26:21NKJV

    “A soft answer turns away wrath, But a harsh word stirs up anger.” Proverb 15:1 NKJV

    You are entitled to believe that my supporting quotes are lies, and to disagree with them but good luck proving them to be untrue.

    Comment by LisaB | February 4, 2010 | Reply

    • “When it comes to it Christianity IS a faith based religion and faith by definition is belief in something without the evidence of it being seen”

      Very nicely put Lisa! We do not dictate to God the terms of grace!

      I will note that Adminus sent another email that shows that he has explored the origins of religion – at least those that agree with his position. I just don’t have the time right now to reply to that and I am not posting it without replying.

      Maybe he will read the book. I haven’t read that one yet.

      Thanks Lisa 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  5. Regarding truths about the gospels..
    Another collection of lies.
    There are countless stories or “facts” in the bible that never happened.

    The great flood, the parting of the Red Sea, Herod’s slaughter of the innocents, never happened.
    The only account of such things is by the fiction writers of the past. Again, all of those stories too are taken from myths of older religions.

    Your bible tells you not to worship false gods, the god of christianity is a false god.

    Your choice, you can either close your mind and continue to believe the lies, or open your mind and investigate the truth.

    Comment by Adminus | February 5, 2010 | Reply

    • Just because you say they never happened does not mean they didn’t. You speak of fiction writers of the past but I’m guessing that only applies to any writer that disagrees with your position?

      You say in another comment (which I may post later)
      {that I am more versed in the bible than anyone you are likely to know}.

      I’ll take your word for it that you know a lot of verses and that you even think you are well versed but don’t think that means that you know more than me or people I know about what the Bible says. It also says in the Bible in 2 Tim 4:3 “For the time will come when men will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear”

      You also mention Paul — what you failed to mention is that Paul was persecuting Christians before His encounter with the living God. What would cause a man to completely change everything he stood for? To go from persecuting to being persecuted? He had it all, fame, prestige, power but gave it all away for a myth? Died for a myth? No -he had an encounter with the Living God that caused him to give him to give up his old life for the cause of Christ. Nothing they threw at him caused him to recant. Why? because he knew it was real. God’s presence was right there with him. No myth can produce that kind of peace. No myth can produce that kind of loyalty.

      Over the years my faith has indeed grown. That’s what happens when you give your life over to God. He is then free to pour into that life His goodness, love, mercy, peace, joy and with that faith and hope grow.

      With eyes wide open and a heart full of love I will continue to let God shine through me to those I come in contact with. With the Word of God to guide me and the Spirit of God to inspire me I will continue to walk the talk.

      Comment by Gloria | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  6. I see how you will be acting..
    I give you the proof, and instead of letting the truth show you and others the way, you delete the posts.

    Typical… Good thing I have a copy.

    Comment by Adminus | February 5, 2010 | Reply

    • Interesting first sentence. I did acknowledge your other post and responded to a portion of it.

      “You say in another post (which I may post later)”

      “Typical” ??? interesting judgment call seeing as how I did state that I may post it later when I would have time to respond. Did you think that I would have no response?

      As for proof? I cannot prove God exists in the same way that you cannot prove He doesn’t. (By this I mean God sending Christ not a myth) God set it up that way. We come to God in faith. We come to God on His terms. We do not dictate to Him His terms.

      Proof — as a simple illustration — you nor I can prove wind exists. We can see the results of the wind. Well I look around me and I see God’s fingerprints everywhere. The results of His interaction with people.

      Comment by Gloria | February 6, 2010 | Reply

  7. Sorry, I seem to have the wrong info on my cut & paste… weird..

    Comment by Adminus | February 5, 2010 | Reply

    • Not sure what this was about?

      Comment by Gloria | February 6, 2010 | Reply

  8. BTW, your topic title is also incorrect.
    By going where you knew your beliefs would be opposed and ridiculed makes you no innocent lamb.
    You knew you would find trouble, and that’s what you encountered.

    They are no “den of wolves”, just another forum debating you.
    If that is how you feel, then you will be persecuted all over the web.

    Comment by Adminus | February 5, 2010 | Reply

    • Adminus — did you read my blog? No where do I claim that I was thinking that. In fact I clearly state that this was the title given to me by one of the other bloggers on the site. My title is very accurate. I also made it evident here and on that site that I was NOT innocent only forgiven.

      Also I did not view it as trouble. You also missed the part where I said — “The sad thing for me is that up to that point, for the most part, the conversation was worth my time.”

      I had not intended to go to an atheist blog as I previously stated. I was following a Christianity tag.

      You have no idea about my feelings and have inaccurately judged the information in front of you. Is this how you do research?

      Comment by Gloria | February 6, 2010 | Reply

      • I have added a question mark at the end of my title. Not because it is necessary but because I am sure there are others who have not bothered to read the entire blog. Maybe with the question mark there they will indeed read what was written, instead of just make assumptions.

        Comment by Gloria | February 6, 2010

  9. As I recall, the book, “The Evidence that Commands a Verdict” isn’t exactly one of those books that a person is likely to just sit and read through like a novel. It’s a collection of notes, references to areas researched, explanations of why the particular information was considered, comments on what was being researched and why, thoughts pertaining to the findings, etc. It seems to cover a lot though.

    I don’t know if it was something mentioned in there or if it was in one of Lee Strobel’s (sp?) books (Lee Strobel being another who saught to prove/disprove the Christian “myth” and who ended up surprised by his findings) but one of them, during their attempt saught out just what the requirements are for a piece of historical documentation to be considered to be, in fact, a piece of actual historical documentation as accepted by most, if not all governing agencies.

    Not only did the manuscripts that were reviewed for inclusion into what we know of as The Holy Bible meet the required specifications, but exceeded them to the point that his conclusion was that if you were to throw out the Holy Bible as not being considered historical documentation you would have to throw out pretty much every other piece of historical documentation from the time periods represented by the time periods those manuscripts were supposedly written in and many others that have been accepted as legitimate historical documentation.

    How thoroughly that person checked that out I don’t know. I’m not the one who did the research but I’m sure that would be another matter that would be interesting to check out closer.

    I do have more I would like to include in my commenting, but unfortunately my “gift” for coming up with the longest wordiest version possible for saying anything is apparently kicking in and nobody wants to have to sit and suffer wading through all that verbage and it is not my intent to make people suffer, so maybe later if I can manage to pare some of it down.

    Before I go though, there was a comment about being more versed in the Bible “than anyone you are likely to know.”

    Interesting. You know Gloria so well that you know whom all she is likely to know? You’ve taken the time to get to know her and learn all about her to the point that you are qualified to make such a statement? If that is how well you have researched and become “well versed” in the Bible then I highly suggest you step back re-evaluate what you are so sure that you think you know and consider delving a bit deeper into your “research” for you are in danger of losing credibility with such statements.

    A thought struck me as I read that:

    Even the devil, should it exist (for the sake of argument to those who may not be convinced of its existence), believes in Jesus and knows the Bible well enough to quote it and twist it, yet, if you’re as well versed as you claim, then we all know what the devil’s motives are in its quoting and use of the Word and how much we can trust its word on the matter despite how well-versed it claims to be.

    I find it interesting how Adminus keeps referring to the idea of taking into consideration the plausibility of Christianity as “closed-minded” but it sounds to me as if he/she is the one who has chosen to be closed-minded in his/her considerations by refusing to take into consideration the possibility of there being any plausibility to it.

    Comment by LisaB | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  10. Adminus – I wear many different hats and have a very full life outside of my blog. I do have much to say about your therory and I will be responding.

    Comment by Gloria | February 6, 2010 | Reply

  11. Adminus, I have looked over your view of the Mithra theory.
    I am not going to include it in my post in the same way that I would not include someone’s points on the theory of evolution. Furthermore, after seeing the way you handle my writing, your reliability is questionable.

    You have no ‘proof’ that God does not exist. Nor do you have ‘proof’ that Jesus did not come to earth to save mankind. I also can not ‘prove’ that those things happened. If either one of us could then ‘faith’ would not be needed. You seem to be missing the point here. So I will try again.

    God set it up that man’s human reasoning will not lead us to Christ. It also will not disprove Christ. God requires faith. We will be judged for our faith or lack of.

    We come to God on His terms. His terms are faith in His son Jesus Christ (not mithra). Could God prove to us His existence? Absolutely but then we wouldn’t need faith. God is involved and has been from the beginning. Just some refuse to acknowledge Him. God gave them that freedom. It doesn’t change who God is. It doesn’t stop God from working in their lives either. He desires that none would perish. One day, though, every knee will bow. I bow mine now!

    You don’t have to agree with me, nor do I expect you to. But you also have no proof -just another attempt to remove God from the equation.

    You mentioned the Vatican. For the record, there are numerous things about the Catholic religion that I do not agree with. That said, I have friends who love Jesus who are Catholic. It is not our denomination that saves us. It is faith in Christ that matters.

    Lastly you hammered on Paul. I took some time this weekend to reread Paul’s letters to the churches. Here are just a few things he writes to the people: be thankful, have an attitude of gratitude, have a heart of compassion, be kind, be gentle, be patient, have love, be peaceful, be an example of integrity, encourage others, don’t allow yourself to become weary, have speech that is full of grace, do good ……….. good advice for anyone.

    Comment by Gloria | February 8, 2010 | Reply

  12. Holy Shakin’ it up, Dorothy.

    You’re sure not in Kansas anymore…

    Comment by Cherie Bell | February 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Cherie – ain’t that the truth. Just shining where I find myself and you just never know who might not like it.

      Comment by Gloria | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  13. LOL! Cherie, you crack me up! You have such a wonderful way with words! I gotta try and remember that one!

    Comment by LisaB | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  14. I stopped over at the atheist blog site. Some of it made me shake my head and some of it actually made me laugh out loud!!

    “No 2” thanks for stopping by my site. I didn’t post your apology because you had posted it on the atheist blog. Not that I really expect you to stop by again but if you do you will see that I have posted it here.

    Here it is – No 2’s response to my response (that is quoted in my post)

    {Anger? Hatred? Not at all. I am not in the least bit angry with or hateful towards the religious. I am certainly not angry with you. In fact, for the most part I thought your arguments were good, although a bit contrite.

    As for my comment, I merely used your own words against you while adding my own observation of god belief. If I offended you I am sorry but please DO NOT pray for me. Save your words for someone who cares.}

    What words had he used of mine? This was my quote he referred to:

    {it ISN’T my God that is behind all the senseless hatred or killing. I’d like to know how my saying that makes me a hypocritical idiot??}

    I still think, No2, that your language was vulgar but you have moved up in my book. (not that this would matter to you)

    I also noticed that my blog address was posted on one of the comments on the atheist site — that explains all the traffic.

    to HeHe — you’re welcome. Maybe one day we will find ourselves commenting on the same blog again. Stranger things have happened.

    Comment by Gloria | February 12, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

