Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

ready to be done with this now

What causes people to give up?

I’ve been thinking about that today.  It has been almost 30 days since I started my carbohydrate addicts diet.  I haven’t cheated, not once.  Well, that is until tonight.  Am I giving up?  I don’t know. 

I am tired.  I am tired of thinking about food.  I am really tired of dealing with food isshoos. 

I made a decision to take a break tonight but only if I blogged about it.   

Here is what my head knows.  God’s plan is for His children to take care of their bodies.  Eating right, exercising, and getting enough sleep are all beneficial for healthy living.    Water is much better for the body than soda.  Carbs are not my friend.  Most importantly – God loves me even though I am overweight.  That is not an excuse to stay this way but, it is important to remember that nothing I do earns His love. 

My cholesterol is low, I don’t have high blood pressure, and I am not taking any medications.  I’d like to keep it that way.

Yet, here is what my mind thinks.  Who has time to make a salad?  Grabbing something on the run works.  I really get tired of rabbit food.  It costs more and takes more time to eat healthy and who has time for that?  Exercise?  You have got to be kidding.  How can I fit that in?

Here is what my body tells me.  Food is good!  Carbs are a great stress reducer.  Soda tastes better than coffee and certainly better than water.   Hungry now!  and the most common one — What are you thinking – that is not what I want!  Food can have a numbing effect – some refer to it as the ‘carb coma’.

Here is what the scale tells me.  I gain a pound or two right after starting a diet.  How does that make sense?  Then I start to lose –Two pounds here, two more here, then up a pound………….down a pound, down two pounds, up two and half pounds…… down four  pounds, down three and so forth. 

I have decided the scale is not my friend.  It has been a tool used in the past to derail my efforts.  That said I still feel compelled to step on it.  Like this morning — 13 1/2 pounds – not bad for almost 30 days.  Yet it doesn’t seem to be enough for all the effort given.

So tonight I will have my pizza and ice cream.  Let me tell you it is yummy!!!  Tomorrow?  Maybe I should get some extra sleep.

til next time

February 18, 2010 - Posted by | weight loss | , , , , , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. Tonight, we both had pizza. You had ice cream, I had peanut M&M’s. That said.
    Jump back on the wagon girlie!
    Your looking great! I was not telling a tale this afternoon when I said I could tell that you’ve lost weight. Just like I am not lying when I say it looks like it’s MORE then 13 1/2 lbs. The scale doesn’t matter. What matters is that it’s working, you look great, and you will be happy that you stuck to it when you’re several sizes smaller at the wedding!
    Proud of you the last 30 days! I want to be like you!

    Comment by Tonya | February 18, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Tonya — does this mean you are jumping back on with me?

      Comment by Gloria | February 19, 2010 | Reply

      • gazelle it!

        Comment by Tonya | February 21, 2010

      • great idea! new plan!!

        Comment by Gloria | February 21, 2010

  2. I struggled w/that diet too. It sounds simple at first, but it’s hard to sustain for all the reasons you mention.

    I’ve been thinking a lot about sustainability in the area of diet and exercise…something realistic that I will actually do over the LONG haul.

    There’s nothing really “sexy” about losing weight…it’s hard work and takes TOO MUCH TIME. That said, the alternative…being overweight and doing nothing about it isn’t a great option either…whether I want to admit it or not…it totally affects my attitude, my life, and how I move through the world. I like the feeling of being strong and weighing less.

    I don’t know if any particular diet per se is the answer for me…I think that real, true behavior change comes from accepting the truth about my overweight self and my losing weight self (<- who hopefully will eventually become my "maintaining weight self"). My overweight self is over-tired, over-stressed and mortified when she looks at pictures of herself. But my losing weight self can be such a brat to live with…

    When I consistently overeat and don't exercise, I feel heavy and awkward and ashamed of myself…I HATE that. And those are feelings I tend to want to push down w/food big time. The problem w/that, of course, is the longer we use food to deal with negatives and don't get into real solutions, the easier it is to just "use" our mood enhancer (kinda like a little pizza and ice cream cocktail) and not change.

    I'm one of those people who needs to weigh every day. But, I'm not trying to lose 50 pounds in 4 months, so modest losses are good for me…and I know that the scale does wanky things with fluid that have nothing to do w/real fat loss so I don't get jazzed up about a couple of pounds up, as long as it doesn't stay up for more than a couple of days. I also need to count calories so I know how much I'm *really* eating. It's the only way I know to stay in the truth about how much food I've really taken in. I tend to be a nibble and forget it kinda girl. 🙂

    It always amazes me at how little of high fat and/or high sugar food it takes to hit 2,500+ calories. But if I'm making good choices, hitting somewhere between 1,500 and 1,800 is plenty to eat. I shoot for weekly averages, that way I get flexibility from day to day…and it's easy to track on Fitday. (I have the one that you install on your computer…a lot better than the online version…and I've got it w/me all the time, even when we're somewhere w/out internet.)

    Not for everybody, but it works for me.

    Comment by Cherie Bell | February 19, 2010 | Reply

    • [But my losing weight self can be such a brat to live with…]

      Oh how very true that statement is! I think I will post that on facebook There are times I think ‘who is this person walking around in my body and how do I get her to behave?’ Oh, God is doing a work in me alright.

      [Pizza and ice cream cocktail] — great way to put it!!
      You have such a gift with words.

      I have felt better in this last month. Yet that said, the effort is so daily. I am asking God to help me do this while not focusing so stinking much on food.

      On a side note I think the apple cider vinegar is worth the disgusting taste.

      Thanks hon for speaking truth and reminding me that staying in the truth is where I want to remain.

      Comment by Gloria | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  3. It’s always wonderful to live with you, just sometimes a little more challenging.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | February 19, 2010 | Reply

    • LOL – what are you saying?? You do make me smile!!

      Comment by Gloria | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  4. *HUGS* You’re still doing well Gloria. You just got a little reminder of what your accomplishments so far is worth to you. Maybe you just really needed a little added verbal affirmation that you didn’t want to acknowledge that God could see and as much as we may hate to admit it, nothing brings on the encouragement like a slip. That’s all it was though, just a slip. You know your motivations. You know your goals. You also know who’s behind you helping you along. We fall down and we get up. We fall down and we get up. (Dang but is it ever easier to be the cheerleader than the doer. We’re proud of you girl!)

    Comment by LisaB | February 19, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Lisa, I so understand how it is easier to be the cheerleader 🙂 Thanks again! Today is a new day and I am up again and working the plan!!

      Comment by Gloria | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  5. I stuggle with dieting too. I totally agree with your comment that it costs more and takes more time to eat healthy and when your busy or tired it’s so easy to go for the not-so-healthy choices (and they taste so much better too). I just keep reminding myself to do my best and that it’s OK to fall off the diet wagon every once in a while. I’m gearing up to get back on the wagon next week since Spring Break will be over and the kids will be back in school. We will see how it goes … 🙂

    Comment by playdoughintheparsonage | March 26, 2010 | Reply

    • Lori — I agree falling off is not the end unless we refuse to get back on 🙂 I had the strangest thing happen the other day. I made the choice (out of frustration) that I was not going to be bound by the restrictions of my diet and had a ‘free’ day. Now it wasn’t a horrible bad ‘free day’ but still… Anyway the next morning I was down 2 pounds! go figure 😛 It did motivate me to get back on the wagon that day.

      I also have a friend who says that she is running beside the wagon because her friends are on and she really wants to be ‘with’ us but doesn’t want to fully jump on. I thought that was funny :0

      riding the wagon together!!

      Comment by Gloria | March 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

