Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

who inspires you?

I was thinking about the impact that people have on my life.

God brings people into my life for various reasons.  Some people are meant to stretch me and help me to become a better person.  Others are there to bring encouragement and cheer me on.   Still others are in my  life so that I can pour into them – it isn’t about me at all.

There is this lady in our church who is loved by all.  When we first accepted the call to minister here I remember being impressed by her attitude and her evident love for God.  (I believe that at that time she was 78.)   I can’t put into words what Opal has become to me.  I am so blessed to have her in my life.

It’s been over 19 years and still she impresses me and causes me to want to be a better person.  I can only hope that if I live to be her age that I too have her attitude and evident love for God.  She demonstrates, by her life, this scripture!

“… older women … to teach what is good … they can train the younger women to love their husbands and children…”  (Titus 2)

Wednesday night in Bible study  we had a time where people could request a song.  Opal asked us if we knew a particular song.  She had been singing it all day.  “I can’t even walk without You holding my hand.”   I loved the title but didn’t remember ever singing it.  (It did sound like a song I would like.)

Opal you inspire me.  I often tell people that everyone needs an Opal in their life.  Thank you!!

“I thought that number one would surely be me.  I thought I could be what I wanted to be.  I thought I could build on life’s sinking sand.  But I can’t even walk without you holding my hand.  I thought I could do a lot on my own.  I thought I could make it all alone.  I thought of myself as a mighty big man, but I can’t even walk without You holding my hand.

Lord I can’t even walk without you holding my hand.  The mountains too high and the valleys to wide.  Down on my knees I learn to stand,  because I can’t even walk without you holding my hand.

I think that I’ll make Jesus my own.  From now on when I’m troubled, on Him I’ll call.  If I don’t trust Him, I’d be less than a man, ’cause I can’t even walk without You holding my hand.”

Thanks Tonya for finding the youtube clip.  It is a great song!!

til next time

March 26, 2010 - Posted by | Pastor's wife, relationships, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Oh wow! Women like Opal are pure treasures!! I’m so glad you have her!

    Comment by Sarah | March 26, 2010 | Reply

    • Yes she is. What an example of living a life of servanthood.

      Comment by Gloria | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  2. There are lots of people who still stop by to talk to Opal about all sorts of issues they face in their life. She continues to serve God through her encouragement, prayers, and godly counsel to many.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | March 26, 2010 | Reply

    • a true inspiration!

      Comment by Gloria | March 27, 2010 | Reply

  3. She is definitely a precious one-of-a-kind blessing and if she knew we were singing her praises like this she’d probably be embarrassed and tell us to “Stop that!” waving it all off as nothing.

    Comment by Lisa B | March 27, 2010 | Reply

    • very true 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | March 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

