Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

ups and downs

In the past my ‘diets’ have  resembled a horse race. 

 The gates are opened and it is Determination and Will Power out in front.   Next it is Right Choices with Satisfaction trailing close behind.  Bringing up the rear is Crazy Schedule, Stress, and lastly Frustration

Rounding the first corner it is Determination and Will Power still neck and neck.  Crazy Schedule is coming up on the outside.  Stress is trying to keep up with Crazy Schedule.    Frustration is still bringing up the rear.

Crazy Schedule has passed Right Choices and is neck and neck with Determination and Will Power.   Stress has passed Satisfaction and is closing the gap on Right Choices

Oh my, Will Power tripped and took Right Choices down with him. 

Wait — What’s this?  Frustration is coming from behind with speed like we haven’t seen here before.  Frustration flew right  past Satisfaction and side-stepped around Will Power and Right Choices.

FrustrationStress,  and Crazy Schedule are neck and neck as they round the final corner. 

Frustration wins by a nose!!    

Over and over again history would repeat itself.   I’d go for weeks and then try again.  Only to give up in frustration.   I’d  blame my crazy schedule and stress. 

68 days ago I started what will hopefully be my last ‘diet’.  It sounded all too familiar.  Yet I had to try.

The thing that surprises me most is that I am still working the plan.   Will power and right choices are still sometimes tripped up by frustration, crazy schedules and stress.   Some days satisfaction isn’t even in the race.  Yet the race is continuing.

The difference this time is that I have stopped believing the ‘lie’ that I had to do it perfect.  This time I am trying to extend to myself the same grace and understanding I would give to someone else who is trying to overcome a weight issue.    I would never counsel someone the way I have counseled myself in the past.  I am my very worst critic.  This has been my undoing as far as eating goes. 

I’d love to say that I have lost lots of weight.  Truth is I’ve only lost 18 pounds.   On the other hand, I’ve lost 18 POUNDS!!   When I think of an 18 pound turkey … enough said.

Each day is filled with ups and downs.  Learning to walk a steady course through the ups and downs of eating is something that God wants to teach me.    I hope that I am ready to learn it this time.    It is a daily journey. 

til next time

March 31, 2010 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, relationships, weight loss | , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. LOVE the horserace analogy (or should that be “metaphore”? whichever is the correct term here)!

    Comment by LisaB | March 31, 2010 | Reply

    • thank you Lisa 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | March 31, 2010 | Reply

  2. Go Will Power!!

    Comment by Pastor Curt | April 1, 2010 | Reply

    • 🙂 my cheerleader!!!

      Comment by Gloria | April 1, 2010 | Reply

  3. Eighteen pounds? That is so great!!

    Those of us who are on that horse track with you understand completely.

    Life is what it is. It doesn’t stop…or even slow down…just because we’re trying to lose weight.

    Proud of you, girl!

    Comment by Cherie Bell | April 1, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Cherie — I am kind of getting a kick out of thinking that I lost a turkey 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | April 1, 2010 | Reply

  4. Thinking in terms of a turkey is interesting. I’ve always thought in terms of a bowling ball.
    You’re doing great! Keep it up darling, you loook maaarvelous!

    Comment by tjalexander | April 3, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks Tonya!
      What can I say — you can’t eat a bowling ball and it seems that I think way too much about food. 😛

      Comment by Gloria | April 3, 2010 | Reply

  5. 18 pounds is awesome !! 🙂 Way to go ! Great blog – love the way you compared it to a horse race 🙂

    Comment by playdoughintheparsonage | April 5, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks Lori. My husband is getting a kick out of it too and going around yelling “go will power” — “go right choices” LOL

      Comment by Gloria | April 5, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

