Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

in God we still trust

I read a definition of coincidence the other day that made me laugh out loud. 

Coincidence is when God chooses to remain anonymous! 

In the past, I have been known to say that I don’t believe in coincidence.  Things happen for a reason and a purpose.  My life is safely in the hands of the living God and He orchestrates things in such a way that I am in the right place at the right time.  Even if it may feel  like the wrong place at the wrong time – I know that my life is not governed by my ‘feelings’ but by the knowledge that God will work ALL things out for my good.   

There are those who do believe that a coincidence is just that – a coincidence.    There are those who certainly don’t want to acknowledge that God had anything to do with it.  Which brings me back to my new definition. 

 It also reminds me of a song by Diamond Rio. 

 You place your hand on His Bible when you swear to tell the truth. His name is on our greatest monuments and all our money too. When we pledge allegiance, there’s no doubt where we stand. There is no separation …we’re one nation under Him.

 In God we still trust … here in America.  He’s the one we turn to – every time the going gets rough. He is the source of all our strength  – the one who watches over us. Here in America in God we still trust.

Now there are those among us who want to push Him out and erase His name from everything this country’s all about.  From the school-house to the courthouse – they’re silencing His word. Now it’s time for all believers to make our voices heard.

In God we still trust….

 I am told that the radio stations have been advised that it would be in their best interest to not play this song of the radio.  Whether they do or don’t, whether people like the message of not, doesn’t change who God is.

 So I am heading out today to see what ‘coincidences’ God has in store for me.  One thing is for sure – it is an adventure!

 til next time

June 11, 2010 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I like the definition of coincidence.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | June 11, 2010 | Reply

  2. My life was full of “coincidences”.
    I was extremely abused for the first 22 years of my life. Apart from all other types of abuse, I was constantly told I was an ugly freak, totally evil, and that no one would ever want me so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.

    I survived many “coincidences” and at 22 years old I was a definite man hater and about to become a Roman Catholic nun. Then came the greatest “coincidence” of all. Through an amazing set of circumstances I heard the Gospel for the first time.

    My life completely changed and for the last 52 years I have known, loved and served my heavenly Father and experienced so many of His “coincidences” as He has proven to be my Everything. How I praise Him for His “coincidences”!

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | September 19, 2010 | Reply

    • What a great testimony to the power of God’s love to change a person. There is a song out “God in my living” which is one of my favorites. It talks of God in every area of our life!!
      Those areas that we see and those areas that we aren’t aware of, yet God is right there with us in all of them.

      Comment by Gloria | September 19, 2010 | Reply

      • “IN” all of them is the key. He is not far off, but right there IN our troubled times, ever present, ever ready, ever able. We do indeed serve an awesome God!

        Comment by meetingintheclouds | September 19, 2010


Leave a Reply

