Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

getting out of Dodge

Sometimes you just have to get out of Dodge.   This is true for many people.  It is especially true for ministers. It seems there is always something that needs attention or one more thing that needs to be done.

On Friday, I talked Curt into getting out of Dodge.  It didn’t take much convincing.  We had recently been discussing the lack of spontaneity in our life.  When you both work two jobs, there isn’t room for much spontaneity.

Here is the plan.  Yes, with my husband you still need to have some sort of a plan.

It was a beautiful day for a bike ride.

I would pick where we eat lunch and our first stopping place.  He would pick the next stopping place.  Then it would be my turn and so forth.

My pick for lunch was Taco Bell.   I love Taco Bell!!

Then it was off to the local zoo.

Last time we were there I couldn’t decide if I wanted to start a new collection.

I have fallen in love with the giraffes.

See my baby giraffe?

A new collection has been started.

Our living room now has a wild animal theme.  It works!!

Curt’s turn to pick.

His pick was this little ice cream parlor.   It is family owned and has been open everyday for the past 100 years.

The owner was a hoot!  His wife came in before we left and whispered to me that he was 90 years old and not ready to quit.

He makes the ice cream and candy.  It was wonderful.

I love fountain pop and this was the real deal.

From there I chose the Amana’s.

It was a bit of a drive but it was such a beautiful day for a bike ride.

As we were going down the highway at 70 mph,  the semi we were following blew a tire.  Scary!! This was a first for us.  It was loud!

Thankfully, Curt doesn’t follow real close and he was able to swerve around the tread.

Peace Park!

Just what I was looking for when I felt the need to get out of Dodge.

Walking around the Amana’s was a big help too.

The weather man was wrong again.  It wasn’t to rain until midnight.  The sky was changing.  Do we head for home or continue?

We decided to go ahead and eat supper with the hope that the storm would blow over.

Curt’s pick for supper was one of the local restaurants.  German food at its finest.

However, the rain didn’t blow over.

In fact it was a cold rain.  We were quite a ways from home.  It was a long drive.  Yet I wouldn’t trade the day for anything.  What’s a little rain?

til next time

September 15, 2010 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, motorcycle | , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. It was a good day.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | September 15, 2010 | Reply

    • yes it was and we needed a good day — well I needed a good day 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | September 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. Sounds like a fun day!

    You know…except for the imminent death thing and all that cold rain.

    You’re a better woman than I.

    Love the pictures!

    🙂

    Comment by Cherie Bell | September 15, 2010 | Reply

    • There is that (imminent death and rain)! I looked at new helmets today. I was just going to get a shield for my helmet but Mark did point out that my helmet has lost its cushion. I knew I had a big head but come on. He is getting some more in next week so maybe I will like (translate – fit) one of them. LOL

      Comment by Gloria | September 15, 2010 | Reply

  3. I think I must have been on facebook too much. I just realized I don’t see a “like” button on here!

    Comment by LisaB | September 15, 2010 | Reply

    • that is funny Lisa 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | September 16, 2010 | Reply

  4. GOOD FOR YOU!!! I JUST blogged about this today. Read it so you can see the statistics of people that DO NOT take a break. I wouldn’t make it without them.

    Sounds like a fun day!

    Comment by Sarah | September 18, 2010 | Reply

    • The statistics are quite sad. I wonder just what does Jesus think of how His leaders are leading?

      Comment by Gloria | September 19, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

