Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

garage sale

Garage sales?

If you have ever had one, then you know that they are a lot of work.  Usually more work than they are worth.  A long time ago I determined that garage sales were a complete waste of time and that I would give away my ‘treasures’ instead of try to sell them.   This has worked very well for me.

That is until this past week-end.

We had our first garage sale in years.  It will (almost certainly) be our last.

See that lovely orange hard-shell pop-up?  That was the reason for the garage sale.   The sale of that camper was an answer to two completely different prayers.

Our prayer was that we would sell it and not take a huge loss.

Along comes this guy who, for the last 10 years, has been looking for just such a camper.  He went away happy and Curt did a happy dance.

Maybe now we will find the camper that we are looking for.  In the meantime, winter is coming and we have extra parking space.

We also managed to unload our dorm fridge, small freezer, futon, a couple of chairs, foot stool and misc ‘stuff’.    Hmmm, maybe it is time to go shopping.

til next time

October 12, 2010 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. At least it is over, the camper is gone, and we have all winter to find a replacement.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | October 14, 2010 | Reply

  2. Sounds like you sold a few things we might’ve been interested in if we’d known we were getting a house at the time and if we’d been in the state at the time to have been able to check it out. Glad it went well.

    Comment by Lisa B | October 26, 2010 | Reply

    • I am very happy for you guys. Little by little you will fill it up.

      Comment by Gloria | October 27, 2010 | Reply

      • It will be filled up immediately most likely, unfortunately. But hoping some of that will eventually go bye-bye to make way for what we’d prefer to have in the spaces. Got enough yarn probably to make blankets for the neighborhood but that won’t help the day I find I actually really need a plunger; and a weedwacker will probably be preferable to all the scrapbooking supplies when it comes time to do yardwork. When company comes over I have a feeling there may be a desire for a few less “toys” or books and a little more “real” seating. I’m sure everybody will be happier when there ends up being less paper clutter. Don’t get me wrong, I’m extremely grateful for blessings of the crafting supplies, books, and toys but some of the decluttering will definitely be easier than some other of it and as much as one may appreciate their abundance of things, that doesn’t necessarily always mean they got all their bases covered by it all. Looking foreward to being able to do more of that decluttering in peace and hopefully turn it into a real home (as opposed to the giant mismatched storage facility I fear it may start out as and be for a while).

        Comment by Lisa B | October 28, 2010

  3. Lisa — I am up to 300 of the 500 things i want to weed out by the end of the year. What that has done for me is make me really really think about whether or not i want to buy a certain item that may make it into my cart. The realization that it may end up being clutter has helped me to put many things back on the shelf. I also decided that I am not buying anymore craft items until I get some of the ones I have used up.
    It may take awhile but eventually you will be able to replace given things with wanted things. It took me almost 20 years to get rid of the table that was given to us but eventually 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | October 28, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

