Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

with faith – fear doesn’t have a chance

Fear is a powerful emotion.    I’ve heard it said that there are over 365 references to “do not be afraid” or “fear not”…. in the Bible.   One for each day of the year.  I have never bothered to count them because whatever the exact number is, the truth is that God does not want His kids to live in fear.

Fear can have such a hold on a person that it hinders them from enjoying life.  Irrational fear can be paralyzing.

This weekend I came face to face with a fear of death – not my death but my husband’s death.   Thank God he didn’t die but I can now say that I know what he will look like when he does.  Oh, to remove that image from my brain.  Once again reminding me of the importance of what we put before our eyes.  Our brain is a computer that stores all that we look at.

Long story short —

We were shopping with another couple (long time friends) when Curt’s stomach was feeling a little upset.  He sat down on a bench.  The next thing I know his head fell backwards, eyes were vacant, and his body was stiff.  I was sure he had just had a heart attack.

Time does seem to stand still.

He did come around,  but the EMT suggested that we take him to the ER.  The doctor wanted to keep him overnight for observation.  What would cause a healthy man (on no medication) to pass out?  (It is called a syncopal episode.)

I am grateful to our friends who made a horrible situation bearable.  It wasn’t at all what we had  planned, but it was an adventure.

He was released in the morning with orders to see his family doctor and have a stress test done.

Surprising to me, it was on the way home that I fell apart.  After all was said and done THEN the fear took over.  What would I do without him?   Will it happen again?  What caused it?  What if………………….?

Fear is a powerful emotion.

Yet even greater than fear is faith.

I was reminded, in a very fresh way, of the importance of gathering together with the people of  God.  It was during worship that God began to peel away the fear that had been consuming me.  As I joined others in offering praise to the One who holds all things together (Col 1:17) my head knowledge once again reached my heart.  For I know that God is in control.  I know that God will make a way.  I know that there is nothing to fear.  Now my emotions know that again too.

til next time

October 20, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. What a dreadful experience – but what a blessing when God replaces the fear with His own presence and His gift of faith!

    Reminds me of a little verse:

    Fear is faith in satan
    Faith is “fearing” God.
    Ever see it that way?
    Does look rather odd.

    Fear says ‘God may fail me’
    Faith knows He keeps His Word.
    ‘Hitherto the Lord has helped us’
    Doubting now would be absurd.

    Dismiss your doubts and feelings,
    ‘Stand still’ and see it through.
    The God who fed Elijah
    Will do the same for you.

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | October 20, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks for sharing that poem. I like it!

      Comment by Gloria | October 21, 2010 | Reply

  2. No matter what happens, we have nothing to fear.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | October 21, 2010 | Reply

    • My head does know that but sometimes my heart has a hard time remembering that.

      Comment by Gloria | October 21, 2010 | Reply

  3. Oh Gloria!!!!!!!! Wow, I’m glad he is o.k. now!! So scary!!

    Comment by Sarah | October 21, 2010 | Reply

    • His stress test came back borderline abnormal. We really weren’t expecting that. So now we wait to see what the doctor does next.

      Comment by Gloria | October 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

