Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

waiting

I really don’t like waiting.  Seriously, does anyone?  Yet over time I have learned to wait more graciously.  I seem to have lots of practice opportunities.  Everyone does.

When a baby is hungry or uncomfortable he/she will start to fuss.  If that does not get the desired result – next will come tears and much louder fussing.  If this is ignored then the intensity will increase until the baby is in an all out fit.  Hmmm, for some people nothing has really changed.  *heavy sigh*

When our boys (twins) were little they were not sleeping through the night.  They would take turns being awake.  They made a great tag team.  I did not function well on little sleep.

Finally, the doctor told us that we needed to change our tactics.  After they were fed and changed we were to put them to bed (awake) and let them learn the art of falling asleep on their own.

Curtis was at this particular doctors visit and he believes in following doctors orders.  So that night he had to literally restrain me from going in there.  It was the longest few minutes of my life.   The waiting was horrible.    The result —- they slept through the night that night and from then on.    My babies were beginning to learn the art of waiting.

Sometimes in life I find myself in that place again.  Only this time it isn’t the babies but a long dark night.   I am reminded of the song —  “My soul waits for the Lord through the night til the morning, like a night watchmen waiting for the coming of the dawn. ” (Psalm 130:6)

One thing is for sure morning is coming.   Things are always changing.

There is another scripture verse that I seem to return to quite often.

Isaiah 40:31  “But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.”

In a society where you can drive up for your coffee, food, banking, and even in some places worship – there are still things that cause us to wait.  It is the way we wait  that we have control over.

I cannot make the doctor hurry up and call but I can rest in the knowledge that God is in control.

When I am stuck in the ‘wrong’ check out line – I can look for some way to encourage the person next to me.  (I find that I manage to get in the wrong line quite often.  Hmmm, I don’t think that is a coincidence.)

While I wait for the day that I only work one job, I can choose to make the most of the opportunities that my second job gives to me.

When the night seems long I can hold on because morning is indeed coming.

Lord, help me to remember that nothing is going to happen to me today that You and I can’t handle.

til next time

October 30, 2010 - Posted by | ministry, twins | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Waiting is often difficult – but always pays dividends when we are talking about waiting for the Lord’s timing.

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | October 30, 2010 | Reply

    • His timing is always just right – may not be early but right on time.

      Comment by Gloria | October 31, 2010 | Reply

  2. Patience, faith, trust, are all strengthened as we wait.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | November 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

