Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

you have stress?

It seems that everyone I talk to is under stress.  For some it is one or two really huge things.  For others it is a bunch of little things that have piled up on top of each other causing an overwhelming sense of despair.  Whatever it is — stress seems to dominate many conversations.

Much  stress is a result of poor decisions.  Sometimes we make bad decisions and sometimes those around us make bad decisions that causes us stress.

Relationships are a huge source of stress.  Romans 12:18  If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.”  This is great advice for reducing stress.  We cannot control another person, but we do have control over what we say and do.

Family dynamics can be a huge source of stress.  Whether it is spouse, children, grandchildren, in-laws, siblings, etc — their actions can have an impact on the whole family. This one, in one way or another, seems to be the most common.  Maybe it is because we can choose to step away from friends who stir up strife, but family will always be family.

I consider it one of the highest compliments I can receive when someone implies that they don’t think I have any stress.   Now it may take me awhile to process it but the end result is that it is a compliment.

For the record, ministers are not immune from stress.  Truth is, they have the ‘usual’ stress that comes with living and then there is the stress involved in ministry.

There is a spiritual battle going on.  Ministers lead by example and are right there on the front lines.   If the enemy can take out the minister and/or family, he has won a great victory.  Much damage is done to the cause of Christ when a minister falls.

So what can you do about stress?  Take ownership of your own actions.  Whatever is happening to you – you are still responsible for how you handle it.

The Serenity Prayer is  a wonderful tool.  Use it!  Be sure to read the rest of the prayer.

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
Taking, as He did, this sinful world
as it is, not as I would have it;
Trusting that He will make all things right
if I surrender to His Will;
That I may be reasonably happy in this life
and supremely happy with Him
Forever in the next.
Amen.

–Reinhold Niebuhr

Truth is stress will always be a part of life.  How you handle it will determine if you live stressed out or you live with purpose.  Don’t forget – God has a plan and He is in control.

He will work all things out for the good to those who love Him.  This is a promise we can depend on.  God isn’t stressed about whatever is going on and He wants us to lean on Him and trust Him.

Is it easy?  Not always.  But it can be done.  This is why I consider it a huge compliment when people imply I have no stress.

til next time

November 13, 2010 - Posted by | life lessons, living in a fish bowl, ministry, relationships | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. So, it is not that you do not have stress, but that, apparently, you handle it well.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | November 13, 2010 | Reply

    • that must be it huh? LOL

      Comment by Gloria | November 13, 2010 | Reply

  2. Very Good Blog, Gloria!!! On time too…for this time of year and always!!!! I have been stressed for weeks in trying to find a healthcare plan. So..why haven’t I just given it over to God and quit worrying about it EARLIER.. and saved myself the stress?? I came to my senses TODAY..and did that!!!!!! He was there all the time!!!! Love, pat

    Comment by pat kanneberg | November 13, 2010 | Reply

    • saying a prayer with you Pat – that God directs you to just the right one. Love you!!!

      Comment by Gloria | November 13, 2010 | Reply

  3. Great thoughts.
    When I was working up to 16 hours a day (voluntary work) in childrens ministry, there was an enormous amount of stress and deadlines to meet – but THAT stress was beneficial. I always worked better under stress.

    Now, when we are talking about harmful “worry-type” stress, that is another thing. I am not a worrier in that regard. I do not stress because I have a burden-bearer and when I turn things over to Him, He undertakes. Having said that, I must admit that sometimes it takes a little time before I turn them over – and each time I wonder why I waited so long. He is able: He is willing – but sometimes, silly me, I delay.

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | November 14, 2010 | Reply

    • My husband is the same way. He has told me that he eats stress. It motivates him and keeps him rolling. He is a list person also.

      When I am under deadlines that overlap and projects that all need attention now — well my wires get crossed and I short circuit. Too much good stress is not good for me.

      Recently I made a huge shift in my wiring and no longer give in to the temptation to rush hither thither and yon. It has been the most freeing for me. I actually find I am getting more done — how does that work? I am learning to walk with Jesus – instead of running running running. It has been very good for me. Hard sometimes but good.

      Comment by Gloria | November 14, 2010 | Reply

      • I’m with your hubby on this one. Have you tried making a list?
        I have a list which I prioritise each morning before starting work. Once prioritised, it is easy to concentrate on the one thing and when completed, move onto the next.

        Comment by meetingintheclouds | November 15, 2010

  4. meeting…. yes I have tried lists and they just don’t seem to work as well for me. They tend to overwhelm me.

    Comment by Gloria | November 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

