Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

this too shall pass

Helen Steiner Rice had the right idea when she penned the poem This Too Shall Pass’.

It seems that sometimes life comes at us with the intensity of a tsunami.  A life situation (volcanic eruption) that produces  overwhelming (a large wave) emotions.  There seems to be nowhere to run to get out of its way.

Other times there seems to be a storm brewing that brings lightning, thunder, rain, and hail in sheets.  A person can feel totally drenched.  Depending on the size of the hail or the strike of the lightning, injury may even occur.

This has been a year of storms for me.

I spoke with my mom the other day and she didn’t remember the boys.  She didn’t think I had children.  Dementia is a cruel disease.  It was just this past February that I knew something was wrong.

She is going through the stages way too fast.  I, on the other hand, am still wanting to be in denial.     I don’t understand it.  I didn’t need to experience it first hand to have compassion and know that it is emotionally draining.  Yet here I am.

Through all of that my body decided that it had to  produce histamine in abundance.  That was a hail storm I hope to never experience again.

The storm intensified when Curt passed out this past October.   While I am extremely grateful that we received a good report at the last doctor visit, my body hasn’t seemed to bounce back from the toll that the last 9 months has given it.  Hmmm, 9 months??  — where is my bundle of joy?

The latest storm that is brewing is making it hard for me to concentrate.  My head is ringing — buzzing — pretty much non-stop these days.  The doctor did find the culprit.  My inner ears have decided not to drain.  Here’s hoping and praying that the meds work and the noise stops.

So I find myself going back to Helen Steiner Rice’s poem.  If you haven’t read it lately.  Here it is.

This Too Shall Pass
If I can endure for this minute
Whatever is happening to me,
No matter how heavy my heart is
Or how dark the moment may be-

If I can remain calm and quiet
With all the world crashing about me,
Secure in the knowledge God loves me
When everyone else seems to doubt me-

If I can but keep on believing
What I know in my heart to be true,
That darkness will fade with the morning
And that this will pass away, too-

Then nothing in life can defeat me
For as long as this knowledge remains
I can suffer whatever is happening
For I know God will break all of the chains

That are binding me tight in the darkness
And trying to fill me with fear-
For there is no night without dawning
And I know that my morning is near.

…Helen Steiner Rice

Many years ago my dear friend Rose gave me a wall hanging of this poem.  (I still have it)  It was a very difficult time in my life.    I am reminded that God was right there through that period of pain.   He is an ever-present help in trouble.

Whatever you are facing or will face in the days ahead, God is there.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”  Rom 15:13

In amongst all the storms I am still blessed beyond words.  My children are all home for Christmas!!  This is the year that I now have a daughter!!  We continue to live debt free (other than our house mortgage)!!  Curt’s heart is strong!!  I have the privilege of having people in my life  who make me laugh when I feel like crying!!

til next time

December 23, 2010 - Posted by | dementia, just thinking about stuff, Pastor's wife | , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Weeping may last for the night, but joy comes in the morning.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | December 23, 2010 | Reply

    • is it morning yet? 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | December 23, 2010 | Reply

  2. The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms. Deut 33:27

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | December 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

