Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

january 2, 2011

A friend asked me if we tape our Sunday sermon’s.   We don’t.

I was thinking about what I could do that would be helpful to those who have to miss church due to work or sickness.

The thought came to me that I could do a blog once a week highlighting the message.

So grab your Bible, as I won’t be posting all of the scriptures.  I  feel that it is important to look the scriptures up in your own Bible —  to stay familiar with the love letter that God has given to us.

January 2

Turn to and read Philippians 1:3-11

read verse 3 again.

It starts out by thanking God.  How appropriate that we start the year off by thanking God.

Prayers make a difference.  Pastor then showed us the huge stack of answered prayer requests over the past year.  (At our church, prayer requests are written down and then prayed for during the service.  In addition, Pastor prays throughout the week for each request  – keeping them in the rotation for a month) .  Thank you Jesus for answered prayer!

What about the ones that don’t go as we hope?  Those prayers are still effective.  Either the situation will change or our heart will change, sometimes both.  God also answers prayer by giving us the strength and peace to go on.

We are not alone.  We are a part of the body of Christ.

“In each one dwells the Holy Spirit, by the Holy Spirit we are made the people of God.”

read verse 6

“I am thankful that God continues to work in our lives.  Feelings come and feeling go, but our commitment to Christ can remain firm.

God is working in us”

read verse 9

“It is not just a matter of holding on but moving up!”

(sitting down the mic and and with great gusto Pastor illustrates this point)

“It is not just a matter of holding on but moving forward!”

We grow in our knowledge of God

“I don’t care how long you’ve been saved – you do not know everything.  If you are saying ‘Oh man, this again.’ Then you need an attitude adjustment.

Don’t stall — continue to grow!

We are to grow in our ability to discern, to recognize right and wrong.

verse 10 –  “that you may approve the things that are excellent, that you may be sincere and without offense till the day of Christ,” (NKJ)

Approve what is excellent.  Grow in our ability to not cause offense.  Psalm 119:165 “Great peace have they that love Thy law and nothing shall offend them.” (KJ)

God help us not to be an offense/stumbling block to others.  On the other hand there is the challenge to not be offended by others.  Remember who you are in Christ.  See people through the eyes of Christ.  We can walk in peace.

This is an area where everyone will have opportunity to grow in.

read verse 11

Be filled with the fruits of righteousness.  FILLED!  Again room for growth.

New Year — God what do you have for us?

…pray, fellowship, grow, service to those around us, various ministries within the church, opportunities for outreach …. letting God work in us and use us.

“May God’s grace be poured out in our lives.  May He continue to work in us and through us.”

til next time

(Quotes in bold and italics are from Pastor)

January 2, 2011 - Posted by | ministry, Pastor's wife, sermon notes, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Hi Gloria, thanks so much for posting about Sunday’s sermon. I really appreciate it. SO many reasons I cannot be there but so many reasons I wish I could. Thank-you. Ruthie

    Comment by Ruthie E | January 3, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Ruthie! Did you start a blog? Let me know when you do as I’d love to visit it

      Comment by Gloria | January 5, 2011 | Reply

  2. I appreciated this.
    I particularly like the comments on verse 10. The young people in my groups over the years will surely remember (because they heard it so often) that everything we say and do is either a stumbling block or a stepping stone to faith in Christ to the people around us.

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | January 3, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you. I am often reminded that people are watching to see if I am what I say I am.

      Comment by Gloria | January 5, 2011 | Reply

  3. This is a novel idea. I think that I like it.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | January 6, 2011 | Reply

  4. […] january 9, 2011 Here it is time for my second sermon blog.  (click here for the 1st one) […]

    Pingback by january 9, 2011 « Living Life in a Fish Bowl! | January 10, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

