Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

content and blessed

It’s Easter weekend and that means a busy Sunday for a pw.   I love Easter.    New birth is seen everywhere.  My flowers are popping up.  The trees are budding.  The grass is now green.  New life is all around me.

I can wear white shoes again!  (Yes, my momma taught me well — white shoes come out on Easter Sunday.  Some things you just never  forget.)

It is also the celebration of the resurrection of my Lord Jesus.  This is actually something that I celebrate on a regular basis but there does seem to be something just extra special about Easter Sunday.

This year Easter falls on my twin boys birthday.  While this could be a really great thing, it actually threatened to pull me down into sadness.  Not only would neither boy be here for their birthday but neither one would be here for Easter either.   Chris is celebrating with Galina’s parents and Andrew is on his way to the Grand Canyon on his Harley.

Yet the goodness of God shines in a bright way.  Long before I realized that neither boy would be home, plans were set in motion.    My dear college friend, Rosie, would be stopping here on her way back to MN after spending the last 2 years in Israel.

A get together was planned with another college friend (Donna) that we hadn’t seen since 1985 or 86?    I love reunions!   I was grateful for the distraction.  God knew that it would be just what I needed.

  We had a lot of catching up to do.  In between there were laughter breaks.  Sometimes it seemed that the main thing we were doing was laughing and we needed conversation breaks.

Laughter is hard on the tummy.

At one point there was a mall disturbance.  No it wasn’t us, but I did tell Rosie it would not be good for her to have survived the dangers in Israel only to be shot in a United States mall.   We quickly moved on.

   

  Rose was able to spend the night and stay for the early service and breakfast.

Then she was on her way to MN.

Easter services were even better than normal.  I love my church family.  With our nearest relatives 6 hours away the church has become our family.  What a great family we are blessed to be a part of.

It really does matter what you set your mind on.  I choose to look for the good and to be content with what God sets before me.  I am truly blessed.

til next time

April 24, 2011 - Posted by | ministry, relationships | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. It was a good morning of activities.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | April 25, 2011 | Reply

  2. We had a blast, a mark of true friendship that we can pick up right where we left off. Thanks for a great weekend. Can’t wait for the next visit.

    Comment by rose | April 25, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

