Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

it’s more than a wish

It’s more than a wish.  It’s more than a daydream.

I don’t want to waste my life.    I don’t want to live just going through the motions. I don’t want to  be bound in chains of sin.  I don’t want to be a casual christian.  I want to live a life that demonstrates my dependence on God.  I want to live a life of purpose.

Back in the ’80s I heard a song that changed my life.  “Casual Christian” by DeGarmo and Key.  Thus began a journey that continues today.   It is what helped me to have freedom to break the stereotype associated with pw’s.

I don’t want to be a casual christian.   I want to walk in the power of the Holy Spirit.  I want to grow more and more like my Jesus.  I don’t want to be complacent for I know that will lead to a critical spirit and/or bitterness.

I don’t want to have to search the scriptures to find hope and help in trouble.  I want to have it hidden in my heart so that it is there to draw on when trouble comes.

How did this change come?

My prayers  changed.  I went from “Now I lay me down to sleep’……………….”God bless”……..  to…. “Father make me who You want me to be.”  From  “give me”……………… to “Father may Your will be done”………….

Here are just a few other life changing prayers.

“Lord give me patience.”

The only  way I know to have patience developed in my  life,  is to go through something that requires patience.  I am always growing in this area.   This is an area that is badly neglected in the christian realm.  So many people are in a hurry and lack patience.  Harsh words/actions are expressed all because of impatience.

“Lord reduce me to love.”

When I began to pray this,  I noticed that the way I responded to people started to change.   God desires to have His love flowing through us.  What is love?  Read 1 Corinthians 13.

“Father, show me what I need to change and help me to die to self”

Really? Yes, really!  This may sound all spiritual but don’t pray it if you don’t mean it.  God will indeed show you truth about yourself.  Yet,  He will be right there ready to help you change.

Maybe you don’t think there is anything that needs to change?  Oh, what a surprise you will be in for.

Paul talks about dying daily to self.  This is not casual stuff.  It is not easy.  Yet the freedom that comes from not living for the comfort of your flesh but living with purpose is amazing.

“Break my heart with what breaks yours.  Stir up within me  Your compassion.”

This prayer  causes me to look beyond myself.  I found that there were/are plenty of times to be inconvenienced.  I also  realized that selfishness can run deep.   Ah, but as my heart began to break,  a beauty showed up that is indescribable.   Inconvenience turns into opportunities to let God shine through.

Compassion seems to be a lost trait in many people.  I don’t know if it is because life is busy or people don’t want to be bothered or something else entirely.   Compassion seems to have been replaced with irritation.  Be careful of this trap.

I don’t want to be a casual christian.

Yes, it is more than a wish.

til next time

April 26, 2011 - Posted by | ministry, Pastor's wife, relationships, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I don’t think there is anything casual about your commitment to the Lord.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | April 28, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

