Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

lookin’ good

Pruning is an unpleasant task; at least that is my opinion.

I don’t like to prune our bushes.  It leaves me exhausted and with a huge mess that someone has to pick up.  It used to be that when the boys were young, one of their chores was to pick up all the branches and weeds that I had piled everywhere.  It sometimes astounded me that there could be so many weeds when I had ‘just’ weeded.  UGH!

However, if I want to get the best out of my bushes then pruning is a must.

A few years back I tackled our lilac bush.  Any branch bigger than my thumb was cut off.   The poor bush looked pathetic when I was done.  I was a tad concerned that I had gone too far, but it wasn’t producing like it should.  Something had to be done.

The next year it produced more blooms than ever before.  This year it truly surprised  me.  The thing  is huge and exploding with blooms.  What a beauty!

Full of blooms !

I got in the picture so you could see just how big it is.   Our 2 1/2 car garage is really behind it somewhere.   Pruning was just what this bush needed.  Hmmm, pruning is what I need at times too.

When God prunes His kids, it isn’t a fun process.  Yet He does it out of love.  God knows that there are things that get in the way.   Sometimes even good things get in the way.   ‘Good enough’ can be a trap to keep you from being the best you that you can be.

God gets out His pruning shears and cuts away.   The process can be painful,  but when all is said and done the end result speaks loudly.    A life in full bloom!

til next time

May 15, 2011 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Pruning hurts but pruning is ESSENTIAL for growth, so (usually after the pruning) I praise God for His work. He is the Master pruner and knows EXACTLY what needs to be removed and He does it perfectly.

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | May 16, 2011 | Reply

    • Amen! Yes He does!!

      Comment by Gloria | May 16, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

