Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

God said no

Many years ago I was reading an article by a prominent minister.  The article was on the will of God and he had some good things to say.  At the end, he made the statement — “God has never told me no.”

What?

Huh?

Never?

Really?

That was the last article I have read by that minister.  Oh, I know there is the concept of –take the meat and spit out the bones – which is a good rule but with the limited time I have for reading and so many things I want to read, this author doesn’t make the list anymore.

God never said no?

I don’t know this man personally.   I do know that however good he is or how close he may be to God, He is not Jesus and God told Jesus no.

Yes, you read that right.

In the garden, it is recorded that Jesus prayed 3 times.  Matthew 26 – …My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from Me;  yet not as I will, but as You will.”    (no it is not possible)  2nd time  “My Father, if this  cannot pass away unless I drink it,  Your will be done.”  (no it cannot- you must drink it)  3rd time  “…went away and prayed a third time, saying the same thing once more.”      (italics are my words)

We know the outcome of those prayers.  Jesus went to the cross and died for our sins.  His love for mankind -what a price to pay.  If there were any other way  to God, … but clearly there wasn’t.

I believe that Jesus knew all along that this was the plan.  He was/is God.  Yet He used His time on earth to show us – to be an example we can look at.

There are many things we can grasp from His time in prayer that night.  One  key  is “Not my will but Yours”.    The recognition that God is in control and He sees the whole picture, not just the part we see.  He knows what is best for us.

I pray.   I ask in faith believing that God hears my prayers.  I stand on His word and His many promises.   I trust God!

I also recognize that I don’t know the whole situation.  God does.

I can’t see down the road.  God can.

So I pray with an attitude of  yet not my will or my plan but according to Your will and Your plan.  For I know that God’s ways won’t always make sense to me.  After all He is God and who am I to think I can understand all the thoughts and ways of God.  He wouldn’t be a very big God if that were the case.

My God is greater than that.  He is the creator and sustainer of life.  He is all -knowing, all-powerful, and yet He loves me.  He is not some far off god.  He desires to have an intimate relationship with me and with you too!!

As I look back on  some of those times God said no, I can see why.  I am grateful that God did not give me some of the things that I so desperately thought, at the time, was His plan.

So with my prayers today, I will continue to pray in faith, believing and expecting God to work in the situations.  I will continue to lay out my requests before Him.  It will be with an attitude of  ‘Your will be done Lord’ because I know that God’s plans for me are good.   Each day is an adventure!

His plans for you are good too!!

til next time

June 10, 2011 - Posted by | ministry, relationships, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. This is a good word.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | June 11, 2011 | Reply

  2. How exactly will you know if God has said ‘no’? I’ve been asking God for a spouse, and even asked Him to bless me in my search for a spouse, but every time I pray it, this negative, heavy, burdensome feeling comes over me, like I’ve displeased Him by asking for it. Could it be that Satan is talking instead of God? I’ve had God tell me no before, and when He did, although there was some dissappointment in me, there was also this enlightening, even relieved feeling inside me. Kind of like an “everything’s gonna be alright” voice inside me when He told me no.
    But with my answer being no to marriage, it’s different. In His word, it says that not everyone can accept not getting married (Matthew 19), and if our desires are too strong, we should marry (1 Corinthians, 7). Well, I wanna do just that, but it’s like God keeps telling me no, but it’s a hopeless feeling I get, not that encouraging feeling I get like in the past.

    Comment by Doug | June 15, 2011 | Reply

    • Doug thanks for posting your question. I agree with you that when God says no, even though we may be momentarily saddened, that feeling does not stick around because we know that if God said no then that must mean that He has something else even better for us and many times we are relieved because deep down we knew it was best.

      I do not feel that God would in any way be displeased in your request for a wife. He already knows what you are thinking and you are just being truthful in your prayers. Sometimes God says ‘wait’. This is really hard at times because we want things now. We pick up our food at the drive up window, we bank at the drive up teller, I even saw where a church had a drive through sermon. Yah, that one made me shake my head. All that to say, society has placed a real emphasis on instant gratification and this has impacted Christians.

      A couple things to think about: God desires to be first in our lives. No person, object, sports team, recreational hobby etc should come before Him. While you are waiting for marriage, take this time to grow in your love for God and your love for others. And it is also helpful to get yourself out there where you can meet Christian women. Sure God can bring her right to your doorstep but that isn’t how it usually works. (Notice I said usually -LOL) Find a church to get involved in, really involved in — not just a church where you walk in at the last minute and are the first one out the door when it is over. Mingle with people, get to know the people you attend church with – both men and women. You just never know who might have a cousin or friend that they would introduce you to. One last thing, start praying for the woman you will marry that she will grow in her walk with God. If you are doing these things then keep your chin up and know that God is at work in your life and in the future Mrs.

      Comment by Gloria | June 15, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

