Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

christian?

A few months back we celebrated 20 years of ministry in a small town church.  20 years!  I’ve lived here longer than anywhere else in my life.

A lot of people have come and gone.   Babies have grown up and are now having babies.   What a joy that is to see!  There is the joy of  new life  and then there is the sadness as we have bid farewell to those who have gone on before us.  One day we will meet again  on that Golden Shore.  (Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of His godly ones.  Psalm 116:15)

There have been weddings.  I love weddings!  If I could do it over again I would have started a scrap-book with the very first wedding.

There are those who have moved away and those who have moved on.  There are those who have recently joined our family  (quick count and I am up to 23 in the last year and a half  – Thank you God!)

All in all, it has been and is my desire to be real in a world where so many people are trying to be someone who they aren’t.   I have good days and I have bad days.  Life happens.  Yet in and through all of it, God is there.   I am not the perfect Pastor’s wife (not by a long shot)  or the perfect pastor.   However,  I love Jesus and I am learning how to walk in love.  I am finding that to be a life long process.  Some days are easier than others – for sure.

Awhile back I was at a craft store with a dear friend and  saw this fairly large wall hanging.  We talked about what it had to say – about what it means to be a christian.  For our 20th anniversary she gave it to us.  Here is what it said.

When I say “I am a Christian” I’m not shouting “I am saved.”   I’m whispering “I get lost – that is why I chose this way.”

When I say  “I am a Christian”  I don’t speak of this with pride.   I’m confessing that I stumble and need someone to be my guide.

When I say “I am a Christian”   I’m not trying to be strong.   I’m professing that I’m weak and pray for strength to carry on.

When I say “I am a Christian” I’m not bragging of success.  I’m admitting I have failed and cannot ever pay the debt.

When I say “I am a Christian” I’m not claiming to be perfect. My faults are all too visible, but God believes I’m worth it.

When I say “I’m a Christian” I still feel the sting of pain.  I have my share of heartaches – which is why I seek His name.

When I say “I’m a Christian” I do not wish to judge.  I have no authority.  I only know that I am loved.

Christian?

What does it mean to you?

til next time

June 30, 2011 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, ministry | , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I agree with those sentiments – so true!

    My first thought on being a Christian (not necessarily when stating the fact to others) would have to be about BELONGING.

    The very first Bible passage I studied after becoming a Christian was Romans 8 and I discovered that I was adopted – adopted by a perfect Father into God’s own family. This was mind-blowing for me – abused by three “fathers” and a very definite man-hater – one who had longed to find out she had been adopted because that would mean that at one stage (before she became so evil) someone had wanted her.

    What security!

    So my FIRST thought is about BELONGING to God – about being His treasured child – so treasured that He gave His Son for me.

    My second thought is then one of incomprehension – WHY would He do this for me? There can be no pride because it had NOTHING to do with me.

    What a Saviour!

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | July 1, 2011 | Reply

    • yes what an amazing concept — Our father! Even though I had a wonderful earthly father, (for all of 17 years) I am grateful that God is the Father who is with me always. It was not hard for me to imagine crawling into God’s lap because there were times as a teenager that I would crawl into my daddy’s lap. He was a big man and I felt safe and secure. It was curled up in his lap that I felt surely he would beat the cancer. He is cancer free in heaven now.

      Belonging………..yes that is so good!

      I am sorry to hear that your upbringing was full of such turmoil. It saddens me to know that there are men and women out there who are doing such harmful things to children. I am praising God with you for the joy that we have in our heavenly Father and His peace that floods our lives.

      Why indeed? because He loves us. Oh how He loves us!!!!

      Comment by Gloria | July 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

