Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

do unto others

Being in full-time ministry, I have all sorts of people cross my path.

Some are only there briefly.  I may have only one opportunity to be kind to them.  I want to take that opportunity, which means I need to be mindful to be a blessing.

Others people I meet have been hurt in the past by a church (or maybe it was their husband, child, job)   and they choose to take it out on me.  “Like water off a ducks back” that’s what my daddy used to say.  People who are hurting can spew garbage and it is up to me to let it slide off.   It can be hard to not take it personally.  Yet if one is to remain effective in their Christian walk – than learning how to love the unlovely is necessary.  Keeping my heart soft is vital to being able to continue to love people.

There are and will be plenty of opportunities for growth in this area.   I have found that asking God to open my eyes and see people as He does has been extremely helpful.  I am sure I only have a glimpse of His love for the hurting but with His help it is enough.

The Christian life is all about first loving God and then loving others.  I can’t do one without the other.  If I truly love God then I will be working on loving others.  It is what He calls me to do.

On the other hand, I can’t love unkind people without loving God first.  My flesh would instead want to take over.  It is God’s  love that shines through.

How I treat others is a reflection of my relationship with God.  Yes, there are times that I fail miserably but that should not be the normal.  What should be the normal is that the people who cross my path should feel like they matter to me.  This means that I extend grace & mercy, understanding & patience, and gentleness — blanketing all of those with a heavy dosage of love.

How do you treat others?

til next time

July 19, 2011 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, ministry, relationships | , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Very well said. As a Christian one of the most ongoing lessons I must always learn and learn again is to “Harden my hide and not my heart.”

    Comment by Tamara | July 19, 2011 | Reply

    • Tamara that is it exactly!! and yes it is one I learn and learn again also 🙂 thanks for stopping by.

      Comment by Gloria | July 19, 2011 | Reply

  2. That is so true 🙂 Hurting people…hurt people. I have to remind myself of that, sometimes on a daily basis. I work in full-time ministry as well…sometimes we are the scapegoats for people who have been wounded. I really liked how you said that loving God and others goes hand in hand. Blessings and thank you for your blog 🙂

    Comment by Kirsten | July 21, 2011 | Reply

    • thanks Kirsten 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | July 21, 2011 | Reply

  3. Good post. A friend who is another Pastor’s Wife sent me a photo with a bullseye painted on the Pastors head. It was so funny BUT also so true. With difficult people I do what I call “Bandaid Ministry”. I get in there… speak to them and genuinely ask how they are and leave as soon as is polite to. It’s like ripping a band aid off. Often not pleasant for the ripp-er or the ripp-ee. I do pray for it to go well and for God’s love to shine through. Sometimes I’m surprised how God can use difficult people to help us grow as Christians.

    Comment by Sarah | July 29, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Sarah, I like the Bandaid ministry — good idea!

      It is surprising the things I will learn about me from difficult people.

      Comment by Gloria | July 29, 2011 | Reply

  4. Love God, love people…sounds easy, but sometimes it is not.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | July 29, 2011 | Reply

    • it can be challenging 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | July 29, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

