Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

day 10

I am on day 10 of a 30 day challenge.  To say it has changed my life would be an understatement.  (the challenge — For the next 30 days I am going to be mindful to not complain about anything. click here to read more)

How am I doing?

Some days it is absolutely not a challenge.  I breeze through those days.  Others days, however, make up for it and are challenging beyond measure.

What I have found is that I am much more aware of when it is coming out of my mouth.  It is happening less and less.  The coolest thing, though, is when the thought is there but I recognize it before it leaves my mouth.   This is happening more and more.  (hmm reminds me of the scripture to take every thought captive)

I had a co-worker tell me Thursday that she was going to do the same thing.  I was very excited for her.  Although I did tell her to be ready.  As a christian, the devil loves it when we grumble, murmur, or complain.  Therefore he will kick it up a few notches when we purpose to stop doing those things.  He doesn’t think we can do it and he is working to stack the deck in his favor.

That said, the good news is that God does think we can do it.  He is right there ready to help us. After all, He wants us to walk in joy and peace.  Last I checked grumbling, whining, and murmuring were not synonymous with peace.

All of that said, today -day 10 – is starting off very challenging.  I heard some news today that just makes my heart sad.  It’s like this fountain of weariness has threatening to overtake me.

Knowing this is a trial and that I don’t have to act on or live by my feelings.  This is what I did.

I turned to my love letter from God.  Isaiah 40:27-31  I read it in various translations.  The Message bible says it best for me today.

27-31Why would you ever complain, O Jacob,
or, whine, Israel, saying,
“God has lost track of me.
He doesn’t care what happens to me”?
Don’t you know anything? Haven’t you been listening?
God doesn’t come and go. God lasts.
He’s Creator of all you can see or imagine.
He doesn’t get tired out, doesn’t pause to catch his breath.
And he knows everything, inside and out.
He energizes those who get tired,
gives fresh strength to dropouts.
For even young people tire and drop out,
young folk in their prime stumble and fall.
But those who wait upon God get fresh strength.
They spread their wings and soar like eagles,
They run and don’t get tired,
they walk and don’t lag behind.

I read it over and over again until it permeated my very being and quieted those feelings.   I looked for, found, and allowed truth to rise up.  (Feelings can lie to us and try to sway us to go down a road that is not in our best interest.  I don’t want to be ruled by my feelings.  I want to walk in truth.)

My heart is still sad, but my hope is renewed.  I know that God has a plan.  He is working things out and He is my strength.   I will walk in His truth.

Are your feelings lying to you?

til next time

July 23, 2011 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, living in a fish bowl, ministry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. […] Little did I know things were about to drastically change.  I had tried to get a handle on my emotions that morning.  (You can read about that by clicking here.) […]

    Pingback by look for motorcycles! « Living Life in a Fish Bowl! | July 26, 2011 | Reply

  2. It is during the difficult times, that our faith is tested. God does not leave us nor abandon us.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | July 29, 2011 | Reply

  3. […] should be avoided.  It does no one any good.  Yet how easy is it to complain or mutter?  (Check out my 30 challenge to not complain)  How easy it is to justify something that is so […]

    Pingback by caffeine is not my friend « Living Life in a Fish Bowl! | February 4, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

