Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

what are you dishing out?

Relationships are multifaceted. I guess that is what makes life so entertaining and at times stressful.

My daddy used to say “Don’t dish it out if you can’t handle it.”  He loved to play practical jokes on people.   He loved it when people gave it right back to him.

I  remember coming home to a whole lot of junk piled in front of our front door because his brother had stopped by and we weren’t home.  It was their family calling card.   I also remember being a partner in crime at his brother’s house  when they weren’t home.

Later there would be the expected phone call.  I can still hear my daddy laughing.  He loved to laugh.

But what about when people dish out words that hurt?

I have been thinking about relationships lately.  A scripture that always pops in my head when dealing with relationships is Psalm 19:14  “Let the words of my mouth and the mediation of my heart be acceptable in Thy sight, O Lord my Rock and my Redeemer.” 

I can’t possibly expect good words to come out of my mouth if I am mediating on junk.  If I am rehashing what so and so did to me or said about me or my kids or my husband then I am pretty sure that my mouth will reflect that.

What I think and how I feel about a relationship will be evident in what I say.  What I say will come from what I have allowed myself to meditate on.

“I believe their heart toward me is good.”   Try meditating on that.  Give the person the benefit of the doubt.  Look for the good.

Read how the Message Bible puts it in 1 Corinthians 13

So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.

   Love never gives up.
   Love cares more for others than for self.
   Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.
   Love doesn’t strut,
   Doesn’t have a swelled head,
   Doesn’t force itself on others,
   Isn’t always “me first,”
   Doesn’t fly off the handle,
   Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others,
   Doesn’t revel when others grovel,
   Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth,
   Puts up with anything,
   Trusts God always,
   Always looks for the best,
   Never looks back,
   But keeps going to the end.

Always looks for the best — Think about your relationships.  How would always looks for the best change that relationship?

What about puts up with anything?  Yes that does mean the clothes that are two inches from the laundry basket.  It can be so easy to nag.   Why not, instead, start commenting on the good things?    Build up instead of tear down.

It’s easy to love people who are loving me  back.  It takes God’s love flowing through me to love people who are being unkind.  It takes God’s love to not be ugly right back.   This is a on-going process.

For a Christian, there is no excuse for ugliness.  That said, there is forgiveness when we fall short.     My prayer has been and will be “Lord help me to not do or say something that I will need to apologize for later.”    You know what?  He does answer that prayer.

til next time

August 1, 2011 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, ministry, Pastor's wife, relationships | , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. i dont know what is dishing out

    Comment by Daril Salabsab | August 1, 2011 | Reply

    • Daril, dishing out means how you talk to someone or what you do to them. Like don’t play a practical joke on someone if you can’t handle someone doing it back to you. Or don’t tease someone if you can’t handle being teased. So many times people will do or say things to others but when it comes back to someone doing the same thing to them, they don’t like it and get mad. Does that help explain it?

      Comment by Gloria | August 1, 2011 | Reply

  2. I used to be teased about having long pauses before I would speak. That is because I was taught to think before I speak, and sometimes there is a lot to think about.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | August 9, 2011 | Reply

    • You are still known as the man who thinks before he speaks. 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  3. You dished out some awesome advice and food for thought on this one Gloria 🙂 Thank you for your blog!!!

    Comment by Kirsten | September 19, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Kirsten. I have had some opportunities lately to let God’s love flow to people who were being unkind and even rude. This love walk thing is sometimes a great challenge. 🙂 Thankful that God is right there to help.

      Comment by Gloria | September 20, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

