Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

life and death

Lately, I’ve been thinking about life and death.  Living is something that we do everyday.  You don’t even have to give it a thought.  Days turn into weeks and weeks turn into months.  Before you know it another year is gone.

On the other hand, death can take you completely by surprise.   One minute you are making plans and the next you get a phone call that changes your world.

A little over a year ago my most favorite aunt passed away.  It came as a surprise but yet not really.   I was unable to attend her funeral but I was  ok with that.  My aunt knew I loved her and that she had played a huge role in my early years.  She knew this because I told her many times.   I also wrote her a letter expressing my love and appreciation.   She was finally Home.   (home being heaven)

This Sunday I got word that my last living Aunt had passed away.

Sunday was a very full day for us.  We had 2 worship services, then grabbed a quick-lunch and headed to the town park.   The  local church bands  were coming together to have praise in the park.  In memory of 9 -11  the mayor also was going to address the crowd.

As we were pulling into the park,  I got the message that Aunt Doris had died.      This death hit me hard.  I didn’t have time to think about why this was.  People were everywhere.   We were to take the stage at 4:00.  People were counting on me.

Seriously, I didn’t know how that was going to happen.  It is just one more example, in my life, of how God comes through in amazing ways.  While we were sitting there listening to the other bands, God was ministering to my heart.

Then it was our turn.  This was our second year participating and it was absolutely the most fun I have had.    I made more mistakes than I care to admit.  That alone could have caused a melt down right there on the spot.  After all I was processing life and death.   My heart was overwhelmed.  This did not make a good combination for keeping it all together.

Yet again God came through.  In His infinite wisdom He gave me such joy and gladness.    Now He could have caused my fingers to do what they have done a thousand times but then would I have known He was right there helping me?  Probably not.   The realization that He was right there pouring peace and joy into my heart was beyond words.

Why was her death harder than the death of my most favorite aunt?  I have come to the conclusion that death can bring up a sense of loss of what could have been – what should have been — but what wasn’t.   I had long ago dealt with the issues concerning my aunt.   Yet her death brought sadness and loss to the forefront of my heart.

It has also made me more mindful of my life and my impact on those around me.    During practice on Saturday I told our band to be sure to smile because we do love to praise God  and we should be sure to show that.  I reminded them and myself of that before we went on.

Live life to the fullest!  Laugh as often as you can!  Love all those around you!  Choose joy!  Live out loud!

What are you showing people?

til next time

September 13, 2011 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, ministry, Pastor's wife, relationships, spiritual reflections | , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Great reminder…that each day is a gift from God. It also made me wonder if the people I cherish know that they are treasures in my heart. 🙂

    Comment by Kirsten | September 13, 2011 | Reply

    • Kirsten they probably do but it won’t hurt to tell them again! 🙂
      Expressing appreciation is a wonderful thing.

      Comment by Gloria | September 14, 2011 | Reply

  2. Wonderful point about experiencing a sense of loss over what could have or should have been. I had not thought of that before and looking at some of my own experiences from that perspective helps to clarify some things. I am sorry for your loss.

    Comment by Laura Kauffman | September 14, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Laura.

      Comment by Gloria | September 15, 2011 | Reply

  3. I have certainly thought more about it since my heart episode last fall. Each day is a gift.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | September 15, 2011 | Reply

    • There are no do overs — no matter how badly I may want one sometimes 🙂
      Very grateful for the results of that heart episode!!

      Comment by Gloria | September 15, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

