Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

camping

It was a beautiful weekend to go camping.  The weather was picture perfect.

The two-year hunt for a camper that fit our requirements was well worth the wait.  The fact that it has even more than we wanted is just another sign of how great our God is.

We have a wonderful arrangement when we go camping.  I am queen of the camper.   Curt loves everything about camping, where I am not a fan of some of it.   Camping can be a lot of work but not if you are queen.

He spoils me and I am ok with that.  🙂

However, he doesn’t let me win when it comes to games.  At least I made some points in ladder ball.

Curt loves to canoe or take any boat out on the water.  I, on the other hand, love to sit on the shore and read a book.

I have an irrational fear of boats.  There is a reason why I sit on the shore, take pictures, read a book and have a wonderful time.   Empty nesting, however,  means the boys weren’t with to go do all those ‘guy’ things with their dad.

So I decided to give it another try.  Some friends decided to go with us.  They were having a grand ol’ time.

I was trying to remember to breathe and not to scream or move especially when our friends managed to get hung up on a sand dune.  Leaving them stranded wasn’t an option, well not a good one anyway.  LOL

Yes, I am wearing my life jacket.  I can swim and the water wasn’t deep but none of that matters with irrational fear.  I wasn’t taking any unnecessary risks.

Here is our campsite.  It was truly beautiful floating along the backwaters.  Maybe next time I will be able to enjoy it a little.  For now I am just grateful that I looked my irrational fear in the face and won a small victory.   Thank you God and thank you Curt for being someone I can trust to help me with my fears.

til next time

October 8, 2011 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Gorgeous! You two really do look like Happy Campers!

    Comment by Cherie Bell | October 9, 2011 | Reply

  2. I am already looking forward to next year.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | October 11, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

