Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

to get rid of or to hang on to?

It has been over a year since I started to declutter.  (click here to read how it started)  The unthinkable has finally happened.

Yesterday as I was baking it dawned on me that I really didn’t need these huge containers anymore.  When the boys were younger I got so tired of running out of sugar that I bought a container that held 5 (yes 5) bags of sugar.  I did a lot more baking back then and we went through a lot of kool-aid.

Just to show how big they are I put one of my favorite knick knacks in front of it.  (‘Simple Treasures’ is 1 1/2 inches high.)

This got me to thinking about my old canister set.   I love Tupperware.

I asked Curt to go on a hunting expedition.  In our basement one never knows what you will come across.  The last time I went down there I almost stepped on a dead mouse.  That did it for me.

Sure enough he came upstairs with my beloved old set.  I was excited to see it but then it hit me.   The reason my mom would hang onto things was because you just never knew when you might ‘need’ that.

Now this comes along and on the one hand I am so glad that I still had my old set but on the other hand I should have gotten rid of it long ago.  How many things have I gotten rid of that I am going to miss later?  Should I really get rid of this item? ……….

We have gotten rid of over 1,100 items.  I say we because the guys have gotten on board.  It has kind of mushroomed into a family thing.   (I keep track because it motivates and challenges me to reach the next hundred.)

The greatest change that has come out of all this decluttering  is the huge decrease in items that come into our house.  Impulse buying has practically disappeared.  This is a huge plus for my husband and his (ok our) budget.

The clear set does stack inside each other so I could hang onto them.   I am sure there is room in the basement.  However, this time I am giving them to the Salvation Army.  I am sure some young mom will be thrilled to get them.

It almost derailed me but I am once again motivated to give gently used things away so that some else can actually use them.

On a side note the pecan pie/cake that I made yesterday is already gone.  Guess I shall go bake something else today.

til next time

FYI– my blog ends here.  Apparently wordpress is now into advertisements and it has come to my attention that they are posting them right at the end of the blog.  (Cleverly disguising them to look as if they are a part of the original blog.)

November 12, 2011 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff | , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I had the same brown set too, it’s long gone. Baked goods at our home NEVER get day old either 🙂

    Comment by Janet | November 12, 2011 | Reply

    • LOL It is quite the ‘dated’ item. I think I got mine from my mom. 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | November 12, 2011 | Reply

  2. Awesome! Love your post 🙂
    With being in ministry we move around a bit. We got so sick of moving stuff to different countries and houses, we have gotten rid of so much. Some stuff I miss and other stuff I don’t. A friend who is a church planter loves her stuff and she is quite happy boxing a carzillion boxes whenever she moves. I guess we are all different.

    Comment by Sarah | November 12, 2011 | Reply

    • Sarah we have been in ministry in the same place for over 20 years. That was not what we intended when we moved here but that is how God has directed up to this point. It is surprising to me just how much stuff I accumulate. Equally as surprising is how good I feel when I clean out a closet or drawer …………..

      Comment by Gloria | November 18, 2011 | Reply

  3. Gloria…great post 🙂 As I read your blog entry I was reminded of the times when I’ve had to declutter my life of things, behaviors, and people who were not beneficial for me. I’ve gotten much better at the “things”, but I still sometimes struggle with the behaviors & people. I’m learning to realize that God knows the behaviors and people that/who will build me up…not tear me down 🙂 Thank you for this “decluttering” reminder…your timing was perfect!!! Blessings

    Comment by Kirsten | November 16, 2011 | Reply

    • Oh Kirsten thank you for reminding me that it isn’t just stuff that needs to be sorted. I am dealing with a situation right now that has me questioning my next step. It saddens me that there are people who can ‘trash talk’ about a person or ministry and yet be outraged that the person or ministry isn’t there for them. Asking myself the big question — What would Jesus do?

      Comment by Gloria | November 18, 2011 | Reply

      • I understand where you are coming from Gloria! I have complete faith that you will handle the situation exactly how it should be handled 🙂

        I hope you are having a blessed Thanksgiving today with your family.

        Comment by Kirsten | November 24, 2011


Leave a Reply

