Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

traditions

Memories light the corners of my mind………….

It is hard to approach a holiday season and not take a walk down memory lane.  This year I miss my mom.  I talked with her tonight but even though she sounds like my mom, the dementia has taken its toll.  Tonight she informed me that ‘they had made it safely to Florida.’  I didn’t ask her who ‘they’ were.   After all, she has been in Florida for a year and a half.   I just consider myself blessed to be able to hear her tell me she loves me and that she looks forward to seeing me.

It did get me to thinking about Christmas and traditions.

There are traditions that have gone by the way side.  For us, one of those traditions  was the need to have oyster soup for Christmas Eve.    One year  (early on in our marriage) the weather stopped us from going home for Christmas and so I sent Curt out to find us oysters.  We absolutely must have oyster soup for supper.   If I couldn’t go home, at least I could have the traditional meal.   It was Christmas Eve and I don’t remember how many different places he went to before he found  oysters.   Imagine his surprise when I dipped myself a bowl of broth — no oysters, just the broth.   That was the end of that tradition.   Now we have chili.

Then we moved out-of-state and found ourselves far from extended family.   With having a Christmas day service (thus making it difficult to go home for the holidays) we needed to come up with new traditions.  Gone were the big extended family gatherings.  My kids don’t know what it is like to go to Grandma’s for Christmas.  What they lost with that we made up for in other ways.

We created new traditions. 

Decorating the tree means cheese and crackers and Christmas music.   Our tree is loaded with ornaments that the boys  made and an assortment of sentimental ornaments.

The second to last ornament is always Santa and his sleigh, with the last ornament being the tree topper.

A tradition we started when the boys were in school was something we called the ‘early present.’  On the final day of school, before Christmas break, they were allowed to open one present.     This was a big hit.  I still look forward to my early present.

So much of the time pk’s have to share their parents.  We made the decision that the holiday meal would be  just the 4 of us.    It became about family time.    We pull out the china and go all out.

This year we are blessed to have one son home for Christmas.  Our other son and ‘daughter’ will not be here for Christmas BUT are moving back home after Christmas.    Traditions are good but flexibility is even better.

We are blessed.

Merry Christmas!

til next time

December 22, 2011 - Posted by | dementia, just thinking about stuff | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. This is the first time I’ve actually sat down and read your blog. Good job Glo! It got me to thinking about our traditions….or lack thereof. We spent most Christmases traveling afar to be with one year my family, then the next year my in-laws – we never really got to have many traditions. One of them was the Christmas stocking. No matter where we were when the boys woke up Christmas morning, they had their stockings at the foot of the bed. Can’t do that this year. I am encouraging them to create their own family traditions. I so value that. Thanks for the article friend. Love you! Lori

    Comment by Lori | December 23, 2011 | Reply

    • Hey Lori thanks for commenting 🙂 Blogging is a real stress release for me. Hmmm, I haven’t blogged much lately. So does that mean I have little stress or………..? LOL
      Merry Christmas my friend!

      Comment by Gloria | December 23, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

