Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

God can use chocolate

Sometimes reminders come in sweet little packages.

I love Dove chocolate!  Sometimes it is just the reminder that I need.  God can use chocolate.

“Get a good nights sleep.”   This one was a shocker to me.  I had never, nor have I since, gotten another Dove wrapper with that on it.  On that particular day I was really struggling and asking God for wisdom.  Wala…..it came by way of Dove chocolate.

“It’s ok to not do it all.”  I have gotten this one a few times.  Hmmm?

“Don’t forget that after darkness comes light.  Don’t give up the fight.”   (Psalm 130:5-6)

“Always bring your own sunshine.”  This one pretty much says it all.  Where ever I find myself, I try to affect (in a good way) the atmosphere around me.  In the same way that crankiness can be contagious, so can cheerfulness.  After all I am a child of the King and God goes with me everywhere.  He is the reason I can bring my own sunshine!

“When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.”  I’ve heard it said that life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you handle it.  Problems will come — God is still God.  “He is an ever present help in trouble.” (Psalms 46:1)

“Happiness is the experience of living every minute with love, grace, and gratitude.”  On my own I could not begin to walk this one out.  However, with the love of God in my heart and as much of His passion as I will allow to flow through me,  I can live every minute to the fullest with love, grace and gratitude.  That said, I do not always manage to do that.  As with most things in life, it is a learning process.  I am closer today than I was last year.  That is really what counts.  I am growing.

By the way, I opened that particular Dove on a day that I truly needed to be reminded to walk in love and grace.

“Do all things in love.”  see above notes

“Live every day up to your expectations, not others.”  Wow, this one was so timely.  There was a particular individual that was letting me know that I was not jumping to her timetable.  Sometimes being a PW is quite challenging.   Two of my expectations — Walk in obedience to God’s will ….. More of Jesus and less of me.

“You do not have to clean like your mother.”   You could eat off the floors in my mother’s house on any given day at any given hour.  Enough said!

“Indulge in the moments that matter most.”  Why is it that we sometimes find ourselves too busy to enjoy life?

“Live on purpose.”  Again a reminder to make the most of the day.

“Dare to dream.”  Ephesians 3:20 “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us,”   Don’t put God in a box.

“Love yourself”  Sometimes I can be my own worst enemy.

I love Dove chocolate.  The way it melts in my mouth reminds me of how my problems melt at the feet of Jesus.  However it does me no good  if I just let the chocolate sit there covered in foil – even though I know that there is yummy chocolate underneath that wrapping — I still need to take action and  unwrap it.  In the same way, it does me no good to ‘know’ that Jesus will help me if I refuse to unwrap my problem from my fingers and leave it with Him.  Again, I have to take action.

I think I will go find me some Dove chocolate.

til next time

January 7, 2012 - Posted by | life lessons, ministry, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. I love Dove chocolate too! Several years ago my boss had surgery. When I went to visit her in the hospital I took her a bag of Dove chocolate, and when I walked into her hospital room she was upset and crying a lot. She still talks about that time when I came in at the worst time and brought her the best chocolate with the best words of inspiration on them and how it helped her get through that time. I agree! God can use chocolate. 🙂

    Comment by Rebecca | January 7, 2012 | Reply

    • great story Rebecca 🙂 God and chocolate – a good combination 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | January 7, 2012 | Reply

  2. love your site! I am going to put dove chocolates on my grocery list!

    Comment by dottiesteffen | January 7, 2012 | Reply

    • thanks Dottie 🙂 Enjoy the chocolate!

      Comment by Gloria | January 7, 2012 | Reply

  3. I need some Dove chocolate right now! 🙂

    Comment by Carolyn | January 7, 2012 | Reply

    • wish you were here — I have Dove dark chocolate and Andrew has Dove with almonds

      Comment by Gloria | January 8, 2012 | Reply

  4. I don’t know if Dove chocolates in Australia have that. I don’t usually buy Dove choc preferring a very dark choc in another brand, but I’m going to have a look.
    It is amazing what God uses to bring encouragement/blessing/challenge/etc at the right time. With Him there is no such thing as “chance” or “circumstances”. He is in control.
    What an amazing God!

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | January 8, 2012 | Reply

    • Dove does have a dark chocolate kind also. That is what I buy for my husband. Got to help out his heart 🙂 I prefer the milk chocolate or Dove with almonds but I try to not have any of those in the house. I have more will power at work. LOL

      We ‘happened’ to sing “You are God” in church this morning. It has been a long time since we sang it. One of the verses is: You are God in what seems like happenstance, You are God in every circumstance. You are God when we fall and God when we stand. You are God who holds us in Your hands. You, You are, You are God………………… so true

      Comment by Gloria | January 8, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

