Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

ordination

Life in our fishbowl is adventurous.

A couple of things have managed to squeeze their way into our lives.  At a time when I absolutely was not going to add anything to my schedule, I found myself in the midst of the process required for  ordination.

Let me back up a bit — I graduated from college in ’85 but it wasn’t until the fall of 2000 that  I finally went through the steps needed to get my license to preach.  When the boys were little I felt that my first responsibility was to them.

One of the things that made licensing so special was having my mom there.  My dad died when I was 17.  He had no idea that I followed in his footsteps.  (My dad had a degree from a Bible college before he met and married my mom in ’46. I was thrilled to be able to use some of his textbooks for my classes.)  I know that situations came up and he never used that degree in the traditional way, yet I often wish that I had asked him more about it.

Jumping to the present –  as only God could orchestrate, one thing led to another and  the next thing I know I am studying for my ordination test.   Every free moment I had found me with my nose in my study sheets.  I had around a month and a half  before the test.   Of course Christmas and all that entails for a ministry couple was happening at the same time.  Yes life was full.

My mom, as some of you know, has dementia.  I miss having her to share this with.  I miss the excitement that I know she would have.  As it turned out, I used her Bible for my test.  It was my way of having a part of her with me in this process.

Yesterday I had the final step – the interview.   I guess it went well.   At least that is what Curt tells me.  It actually gave me a lot to think about.   I am excited for what the future holds.  (On a side note – My mom had left a pair of her shoes here when she moved to Florida to live with my brother.   I wore those shoes to the interview.  I miss my mom.)

On the heels of this process my husband decides to enroll in a graduate level class.   My “have a plan, be the plan, do the plan” husband didn’t have a clue how this would work.  Yet he felt strongly that the time was now.  God leads in mysterious ways.  God knows how to shake things up and bring about true adventure.

To let you know just how quickly this college class came up, we had to change my interview time in order for him to get to his class afterwards.  Yes yesterday was a day full of adventure.

Just following our leader (Jesus) into the great unknown.  Life is a great adventure!

(reminds me of an old Steven Curtis Chapman song)

The great adventure

til next time

January 24, 2012 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, ministry, Woman Pastor | , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. So true.

    Comment by msjoans | January 24, 2012 | Reply

    • thanks for stopping by msjoan 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  2. We are never bored!

    Comment by Pastor Curt | January 26, 2012 | Reply

    • I might want to try it — just for fun 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  3. […] Why ordination?   I was able to do everything I felt called to do, or at least I thought so until I realized that with a license I was limited in mentoring other women going for their credentials.  Coming along side and helping women fulfill the call God has placed on their lives is important to me.   (see post Ordination for more on that process) […]

    Pingback by not just another day « Living Life in a Fish Bowl! | April 24, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

