Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

fun?

Sometimes life can be crazy and we can get caught up in all that has to be done.     Keeping our lives in balance can seem like a never ending challenge.  Sleep, work, family, fun, responsibilities, commitments can resemble a  juggling act.

While juggling the many facets of our lives, it can be easy to take things for granted.   — i.e.  A few moments of a power outage and gratitude for electricity comes to the forefront.  An attitude of gratitude is a good way to start each day.

Our life is crazy busy.  Those of you who have followed my blog know that my husband and I both pastor and are employed outside the church.  In addition to that, he just started a graduate level class.   Along with all that, our son and daughter (in law)  moved in with us in December.   🙂   We are no longer empty nesters.    Our other son is in college.  Yes our life is full.  There is a to do list that seems to be a mile long.

I was asked recently what I did for fun?

I have given this matter quite a bit of thought this week.  What do I do for fun?

As I thought about this I realized that I have fun every day.  I love to laugh.  I am easily amused.  Fun is a part of who I am not just something I do.

Oh there are things I like to do:  date night, having coffee with a good friend,  shopping, going to a good movie,  traveling ………………..

Sometimes it seems like those things are few and far between.  I am grateful that fun is something I can include in each day.  It isn’t hard to find things to laugh about.  Laughter is contagious.

Today, among other things I found worthy of laughter, Curt and I stopped by the local bakery and picked up some scrumptious desserts.  As we were walking home he dropped mine.  Yes it fell right out of the sack onto the pavement.  My response to his shocked face was laughter!  (One hand over the mouth and one hand on the tummy – laughter.)

I did retrieve said yummy thing and thought about the 5 second rule.  That is just how appetizing this item was.   However, I am a germ-a-phob and couldn’t get past the dirty, gross pavement.

What was there to do but  go back to the bakery and buy another one?  The surprised waitress thought it was because I didn’t want to share.  Even that was funny.

Curt and I talked about it and I could have responded differently.  Sometimes we take things just way too serious.  Looking on the lighter side of things, seeing humor in a situation, or creating humor in a situation are all things we can choose to do.

Can you have fun without laughter?  Of course.   But can you have laughter without having fun?  Try it and find out.  I encourage you to look for things to laugh about.

Proverbs 17:22
“A joyful heart is good medicine, But a broken spirit dries up the bones.”

til next time

January 27, 2012 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, relationships | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Too many people think of Christians in the negatives – ones who don’t drink, smoke, etc and ones who don’t enjoy life.
    We should be the happiest and most content of all people.

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | January 28, 2012 | Reply

    • Amen! Some people may never read the Bible but they will watch us. Serving Jesus = a wonderful life here and an even better life after death! Even when situations are rough and life seems hard, God is still God and He will work things out. We can trust His heart. He gives us peace that goes beyond our understanding of the circumstances. Even in the darkest hour we are never alone. Now that is worth shouting about!!!

      Comment by Gloria | January 29, 2012 | Reply

  2. wonderful! live, laugh, love!

    Comment by dottiesteffen | January 28, 2012 | Reply

    • Amen! I choose to enjoy life and trust God for each day!

      Comment by Gloria | January 29, 2012 | Reply

  3. Laughter is good.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | January 30, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

