Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

what battles are you facing?

What battles are you facing?  What is trying to rob you of your sleep?  Is worry trying to weaken your faith?

It seems everywhere I look people are dealing with huge issues.  Whether it is finances, marriage, health, stress at work, children, or you name it – the pressures of life can be daunting.

Pastor’s are not immune from stress.  In fact, those on the front lines can experience a whole host of issues that are meant to do one thing — knock them out of the war.

I love to rejoice with people who have had amazing answers to prayer.  Yet, it seems that lately my heart has been breaking with those who find themselves in the middle of a very ‘long night.’

How do I come out from under the weight?  How do I stop it from bringing me down?  I turn my eyes upon Jesus and lay it all at His feet.  When I wait to do that, I also can feel overwhelmed by the enormity of it all.  My advice to all, don’t wait – give it to Jesus.

I am reminded of one of my all time favorite sound tracks.  I just may have to sing it Sunday.

Warrior is a child/ Do I trust You

“Lately I’ve been winning battles left and right.  But even winners can get wounded in the fight………………………Do I trust You Lord?  Does the river flow?  Do I trust You Lord?  Does the North wind blow?  You can see my heart, you can read my mind and you’ve  got to know I would rather die than to lose my faith in the One I love……………… I will trust You Lord when I don’t know why.  I will trust You Lord til the day I die.  I will trust You Lord when I’m blind with pain. You were God before and You’ll never change.  I will trust You!  I will trust You!  I will trust You Lord!”

There is no doubt about it, sometimes the pain is deep.   David talks about the wounds of a friend – Psalm 41:9 “Even my close friend in whom I trusted,
Who ate my bread, Has lifted up his heel against me”   I sure don’t understand people sometimes.

So to all those who are facing situations that at times seem so overwhelming – remember God is still God.  He is at work.   You can most assuredly trust His heart.  He will make a way.  Let the faith that is deep in you rise up and shout “I will trust You Lord when I don’t understand.  I will trust You Lord when the night seems so long.  I will trust You Lord when my heart is breaking.  I will trust You Lord!!”

til next time

January 30, 2012 - Posted by | Pastor's wife, spiritual reflections, Woman Pastor | , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Gloria,
    I do so enjoy your writings. you are very gifted. Thank you and Pastor Curt for all you guys do!

    Comment by dottiesteffen | January 30, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Dottie!

      Comment by Gloria | January 31, 2012 | Reply

  2. God is our strength and our shield.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | January 31, 2012 | Reply

  3. There is no one else who is worthy of our trust, as He is. I have never known Him to fail and I know He never will.

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | February 1, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

