Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

this past week –

This past week-

I have put together all of the receipts, forms, and information for our tax guy.  This is no small feat.  As ministers, Uncle Sam allows us to take advantage of what is called a housing allowance.  The important thing about this allowance is that we have to document everything and all the receipts have to equal more than the allowance.  In addition, both my husband and I are considered self-employed with our jobs at the church and then we also have jobs where we are considered employees.  What that boils down to is lots and lots of paperwork.

In this past week-

I was blessed to spend Thursday night through Saturday evening with five great women.  That alone would be wonderful but it is made even better because I call these women my friends!!  It was  girl time.  It was God time.  It just doesn’t get any better than laughing and crying with your girlfriends.  In amongst all the fun was the knowledge that God is doing some awesome things.

In this past week –

my son made a trip to MN on his bike.  On the way home he broke down and his brother and friends had to trailer his bike home.

Here is what happened.  On his way home Saturday night he had an experience that could have turned out so much different.  Tooling down the highway at 80 mph (he did not learn that from his mom or dad) his bike shut off.  As it was slowing down he managed to get it to start again.   However, there was still a problem.  His bike shut off and this time the back tire locked up.  Praise God he wasn’t going 80 when that happened.   He managed to keep it upright and get it safely off the road.  I know he had help from above!   Also God sent an officer  who told him that even though the exit was only a mile ahead, the nearest town was 7 or 8 miles beyond that exit.  He gave Chris a ride in the opposite direction to a truck stop where he could eat and watch a movie while he waited a few hours for the guys to get there.  Isn’t God good!!!

In this past week –

I have been lacking adequate sleep.  I am so grateful to God that I can place my kids in His care and sleep.  Yes, even though it was 9:30 at night when Andrew left to get Chris, I slept wonderfully.  Of course before falling asleep I did have to ask Curt to pray with me twice –  Not because God didn’t hear us the first time but because I was still bound up with worry and fear.

In this past week –

I went to my first tea party (complete with real tea cups) to celebrate a precious little girl’s birthday. Maggie keeps me in stitches and gives me plenty of hugs.  While blowing out the candle on her cake she wished for another tea party soon.  How precious is that?

In this past week –

while I absolutely loved the tea party, it did stir up some emotions in me that I haven’t had to deal with in quite a while.  (Before we got married, my friends made sure that Curt agreed to 12 kids.  Yes 12!  Ever since I can remember I wanted a large family.) The fact that even with the doctors help, we were unable to have any more children is something I have had to come to terms with.  Most of the time I am fine with that and always I am very grateful for my twins.

I know how blessed I am!

Other times though, something is said and I am reminded of just how deeply I longed for a girl or I get a glimpse of what it would have been like to have a bunch of kids.  and Bam Pow! – there is that old desire with renewed strength and must now be dealt with again or it shall surely steal my joy.  Once in a while I am caught off guard and this past week I had to deal with that ache in my heart on a couple of occasions.  God tenderly and lovingly heals the heart that hurts.

This past week –

the challenge to stick to water as my only beverage was tested.  So far so good.  🙂

This past week –

I heard from my brother and the time has come when they will no longer be taking care of our mom who is battling dementia.  We have three months.  The emotional roller coaster is trying to start-up again.  Truth is I have no clue what the right thing to do is.

This past week –

has been an example to me of the goodness of God.  In the midst of whatever we face, good or bad, God’s peace is ours if we will just accept it and let God be in control.

This coming week –

is in God’s hands.

til next time

April 2, 2012 - Posted by | dementia, living in a fish bowl, perimenopause, relationships | , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Just another week in ministry!
    I don’t know why God did not bless us with more children. You were and are a wonderful mother.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | April 3, 2012 | Reply

  2. >> “example to me of the goodness of God . . . In the midst of whatever we face, good or bad, God’s peace is ours”

    The peace of God passes all understanding. Even in the middle of a storm, we can praise Him for the peace He gives.

    What an amazing God!

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | April 3, 2012 | Reply

  3. My mom also wanted 12 children. She had 3, we each married and now she has 6. Each couple gave her 2 grandchildren. Voila…12 children. Love multiplies!

    Comment by Laura Kauffman | April 4, 2012 | Reply

    • I love that math Laura. I finally did get my first girl. My daughter in law is the best!! Now for another daughter in law and grand kids!!!

      Comment by Gloria | April 6, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

