Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

did this ever happen to Martha Stewart?

Some TV icons make everything look so simple and perfect.

I live in the real world and sometimes even if I follow all the steps perfectly and in order, well, it just still doesn’t turn out right.

I am not a big Martha Stewart fan.  Before there was Martha Stewart there was Mary Ellen.  Back in the early ’80’s I was given a couple of her books on tips around the house.   I am a Mary Ellen fan.

I got to thinking about Martha Stewart yesterday when I was baking cookies. I love to try new recipes.  This one is called Light Pecan Puffs.  (It is not a Martha Stewart recipe.)

Mmmmm don’t those look lovely?  They smelled wonderful.  However, I had some issues with my cookies and it got me to wondering if Martha Stewart ever had a cooking disaster?

I had a bit of trouble getting the cookies off the pan.  In fact I broke my favorite spatula.  I didn’t know that was possible.

As you can see I had a mess.

 

 

About this time my husband came home.  After trying some of the pieces, this is what he had to say about it.

“These are really good.  I like them quite a bit.”  (Yes, there was surprise in his tone.)  I guess you can’t judge a cookie by its look.

So what would Martha Stewart do?  Blog about it?  — probably not.

I collected the pieces and decided they would make a great ice cream topping.

That got me thinking about God. When plan A does not work out how I had hoped, God is right there ready to show me  another way of looking at it.  My perspective changes and what I thought was a mess turns into an opportunity to see the goodness of God in my life.

I have made a lot of cookies over the years.  I have never broken a spatula, nor have I ever had such a mess.  Yet I will still bake cookies.

In life, sometimes it gets messy. Things break and we wonder how did that happen. Dreams crumble and all we are left with is the pieces.  What are we to do?

Hold on to the One who holds all things together. (Col 1:17)  God will make a way. (Proverbs 3:6)  He will work all things out for our good.  (Rom 8:28)  He doesn’t see it as a mess.  He sees the whole picture.  He is an ever-present help in trouble. (Psalm 46:1)

At times it seems that the night is so long and morning will never get here.  Yet morning will come.  In the process God offers to me (and you) hope, strength, and peace. I choose to accept those things and to trust the One who loves me (and you) most!  (John 3:16)

I’m off to go back some cookies using a tried and true recipe.

til next time

April 7, 2012 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, life lessons, living in a fish bowl | , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. A great lesson from day to day living. Thanks.

    >> “what I thought was a mess turns into an opportunity to see the goodness of God in my life” – This is so often true!

    What an amazing God!

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | April 12, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

