Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

not just another day

24 years ago today I gave birth to two fantastic baby boys.  I have no idea what it is like to have one child at a time but I can say that having twins is a wonderful adventure.  Children truly are a blessing from God.  Being a mom is one of my most favorite things to be!

11 years ago this month my mother was in the audience when I received my credentials – my license to preach.  I remember her face – a mixture of pride, surprise, and gladness. Pride – because she knew full well the cost involved – she put me through college.  Surprise – because I think she had given up on me actually going through the process to get that little slip of paper.  (I graduated in ’85 and have been doing ministry ever since but just hadn’t taken the test to make it official.)   Gladness – because serving the Lord is most important to her.

She told me more than once how happy it would have made my dad.  He died when I was 17.  He had graduated from Bible college also.  However, he never used his degree in the traditional way.

Why ordination?   I was able to do everything I felt called to do, or at least I thought so until I realized that with a license I was limited in mentoring other women going for their credentials.  Coming along side and helping women fulfill the call God has placed on their lives is important to me.   (see post Ordination for more on that process)

Today I will find myself walking up on the platform to receive my ordination.  I would have loved for my mom to be in the audience.  Dementia has taken a toll on her.  I am sure she would understand what is happening but forget it the next moment.

Sometimes the really big things in our lives are not recognized as big events by others but I am sure if my daddy could look down from heaven, he’d be doing a 6′ 2″ happy dance and telling everyone “that’s my girl!!!”  Hmmm,  I think that is what my heavenly Father is doing.

Zephaniah 3:17 (NASB)

17 “The LORD your God is in your midst,
A victorious warrior.
He will exult over you with joy,
He will be quiet in His love,
He will rejoice over you with shouts of joy.”

til next time

April 24, 2012 - Posted by | dementia, Woman Pastor | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Congratulations Gloria! I know how proud your Mom would be. Does this mean I have to treat you with more respect? : )

    Comment by Rose | April 24, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks Rosie!!! If you treated me any different I would think there was something wrong with you 🙂 love you!!!

      Comment by Gloria | April 24, 2012 | Reply

  2. It is long overdue, and well deserved. Congratulations!

    Comment by Pastor Curt | April 26, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

