Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Mutts cartoon

Everything’s

coming up

roses!

I enjoy the Mutts cartoon in the Sunday paper.  My favorite one is Mooch’s diary.    All it says is:   Life is good.  Yesh!  I have that cartoon posted on my printer at work.  What a great reminder.

Recently the Mutts cartoon had a bunch of red roses with Mooch saying Everything’s  coming up roses.  That cartoon now resides on my 2nd printer at work.  Another great reminder.

The Bible is filled with reminders.  (2 Peter 1:1-15, 2 Tim 2:1-14, 1 Corinthians 4:17, Romans 15:15 to name just a few that I have looked at recently)

Certainly there are all sorts of things that go on each day that attempt to rob me of my joy and peace.   Yet, I choose whether or not that happens.  You see no one or nothing can steal my joy or my peace.  It is not based on external circumstances but on an internal relationship with  God through His son Jesus Christ.

After all, I believe God is indeed in control of my life and very much aware of everything that is going on.  Therefore the situations that  come across my path happen for a reason.   I recognize that I may never know that reason this side of heaven.  Yet I trust in the One who holds my life – that He is working things out for my good.  (Romans 8:28)  What absolute peace there is in knowing that God is in control and I can leave every situation with Him and walk in peace.

I’d love to say that I always walk in peace.  I can say that I have grown and am growing in learning how to stay at peace.   I have learned that when I allow things to bother me, it isn’t long and peace is gone.   When I refuse to allow things to bother me, peace stays.  So you would think that would be a no brainer, right?

Yet sometimes I just get tired of the battle.  What battle?  The battle between staying positive or letting negativity creep in.  The battle between faith and worry.  The battle between God-pleasing or people pleasing.  The battle between giving someone what they deserve or extending grace and mercy to them.   Yes, sometimes I get tired.  Sometimes I even get an attitude.  Sometimes life is coming at me so fast and furious that I forget that I have crucified my flesh until there it is affecting my peace.

However, all the time God is with me and wooing me to come unto Him.  His Word is filled with reminders of what to do when we find ourselves overwhelmed.

So I need reminders.  I have found that at work I need more reminders.  My office is filled with scripture cards and uplifting pictures.  They are reminders that I have a choice.  Choose life!  Abundant life!

Everything’s coming up roses!

I choose to see the beauty even when my heart is breaking.

I choose to walk in love even when it is rejected by a long time friend.

I choose to speak kindness even when I am being verbally attacked.

I choose to offer grace to those who trample all over my feelings.

I choose to refuse to be offended and become a bitter old lady.  (Psalm 119:165)

In my weakness  Christ is strong. (2 Corinthians 12:9)

What do you choose?

til next time

June 7, 2012 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, ministry, relationships | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Life is all about choices. Choose to focus on the good.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | June 20, 2012 | Reply

  2. As a believer, you should understand that God will also send his angels to strengthen and comfort you as you grow weary from the battles of this world. He will never let you stand alone and carry burdens that are much too heavy for you. The Lord knows how to rescue godly men from their trials. His purpose in allowing pain in your life is to develop you into the image of Christ and to actually make you stronger for the journey set for you. In 2 Corinthians, God’s word says that you may be hard pressed on all sides but never crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted but never abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. The storms of this life can rock your boat but Jesus has promised that you will get to the destination that he planned for you before you were born. When you can trust God despite your broken heart, you defeat the father of lies who wants you to forget that Jesus paid the price for your victory. All the troubles that we must face are obtaining for us an eternal reward that will last forever. You must keep your eyes on Jesus who is able to keep you in his peace even when you don’t understand the purpose for your pain.

    Comment by silver price | July 7, 2012 | Reply

    • Silver price
      Amen! Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      There is a difference between a trial and a heavy burden.

      your comment –“The Lord knows how to rescue godly men from their trials. His purpose in allowing pain in your life is to develop you into the image of Christ and to actually make you stronger for the journey set for you.” — Right on!!

      the comment –“He will never let you stand alone and carry burdens that are much too heavy for you.” — partially true. We are never alone –even if we want to be alone we are never alone. However, each time a believer gives in too worry, dread, fear …. he is carrying a burden that is too heavy for him. God does not want us to do that but it is a decision lots of christian’s make. The truth is that we don’t have to carry those burdens and all it takes is making the choice to lay worry down and pick up trust, lay dread down and walk in joy, refuse to fear because of the knowledge that God is not on vacation and is very much with us each moment and He is an ever present help in trouble. (I am thinking that is what you were referring to)

      When we place our eyes on the problem – our burden gets heavy — ah but God is so patient with us and He gently draws us back to Himself. When we place our focus back on God then whatever we may be facing, no matter how difficult, fades in comparison to the majesty and love of God.

      Thanks again for your comments — it was an encouraging way to start my day!

      Comment by Gloria | July 20, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

