Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

old dog – new tricks?? is it possible?

What is important to you?

Could someone tell by looking at your life what you value?

Have you become trapped in  never-ending lists and forgotten what is most important?

Priorities – sometimes I really don’t like that word.  I know what is important to me.  Sometimes, though, I find myself getting caught up in doing things that take more time than I had thought and make those things that I feel most important seem to take a back seat.  The “urgent” replaces the vital — that sort of thing.  Ugh!!!

It seems that as soon as I get one thing off my list, two more jump on.  I have indeed become my mother.  I hardly remember her ever sitting down when I was growing up.  She would work a 10 hour day, come home, and be on her feet til bed time.  (She did sit for supper.   However,  if we weren’t eating at the table,  I would find her eating at the kitchen sink.)

I remember as a child thinking I was so not going to be like that.  I was going to take time for play and relaxation.  I did fairly well with that while the boys were growing up.  I made play time a priority.

Now that the  boys are adults the priority to keep play time in my schedule has gotten squeezed.   I am becoming more like my mother.  Well, you can’t eat off my floors and you don’t have to look far to find the dust bunnies, so I am not exactly walking in her shoes.  Yet the pressure to stay on top of it all is still there.

It is a driving force in my life.  For example, I may take a book out to my swing thinking that I will get some reading done.  I may make it two pages before I set the book down and start weeding.   It takes a long time to get through a book that way.

The other day Curt and I were talking again about the benefits of exercise.  We had agreed awhile back that neither one of us would add another commitment without giving up one we currently have.    I just did not see how exercise was going to fit into my schedule, nor what I would give up in order to find the time.

Yet I go back to the question what is important to you?  Health IS important. Some day I want to enjoy grand kids.  Yet, my life style does not usually reflect that health is important.  I eat way too many carbs and have no exercise routine.

Why carbs?  Carbs are  quick and portable.  I can grab a pop tart on my way out the door or I can take time to fix myself an egg.  Time, that is a huge factor.  It doesn’t help that I have trained my body to love carbs.   Set some form of a carb in front of me or a piece of fruit and I’d pick the carb almost every time.  I am a carb food junkie and not proud of that.

So, can you train an old dog new tricks?  I hope so, because this old dog needs to be retrained.

A couple of weeks ago I decided to add walking into my life.  What am I giving up?  Facebook — Oh not entirely.  I still have it up when I am doing other things on the internet.  I check it on my ipod but facebook time has been drastically reduced.

There are still days when finding that hour or even 1/2 hour is impossible but there are days that I manage to squeeze it in.  As for the  carbs — I am making time for that egg in the morning and determined to fit fruit into my daily diet.

It’s a start.  It is also really easy to fall back into old habits.  I’ve been told that if you do something for 30 days it becomes a new habit.  I have tried that and can say that it is not always the case.  Old habits are buried deep inside a person and will resurface if you let it.  Maybe that is why Paul stated in the Bible “I die daily.”  I Corinthians 15:31

til next time

June 23, 2012 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, weight loss | , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Gloria, do your walk very first thing when you get up. I also use it as the beginning of my quiet time. I walk, pray, talk to the Lord, listen to music (and to Him) and then come home and have my reading time.

    Comment by Rose | June 23, 2012 | Reply

    • good idea Rose and I do try to do that on days I don’t have to go into the clinic. I need to get up earlier on those days but so far that just hasn’t happened.

      Comment by Gloria | June 26, 2012 | Reply

  2. You can do it!!

    Comment by Pastor Curt | June 25, 2012 | Reply

  3. Greetings! I’ve been following your site for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Porter Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the excellent job!

    Comment by hcg | July 6, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks hcg!

      Comment by Gloria | July 20, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

