Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

what do your words say about you?

Truth

Lies

or

Somewhere in between.

Where do you stand?  Do you tell the truth most of the time?  Do you think lies have color?  You know, the little white lie?  or Are you known for telling the truth no matter what?

Most of the people in my life know that I won’t lie for them.  I say most of the people because lately I have had some people close to me assume that I will let their ‘story’ become my ‘story‘.   I don’t think they really thought about the fact that they were not telling the truth – that is until I was asked about it and then questioned them?  No matter how good the lie is, lies do not hold up to questioning.

People tell lies to make themselves look better or to pass blame onto someone else.  However truth does prevail and when the lie is exposed they look way worse than if they would have just come clean in the first place.

Sometimes I think people revert back to the kindergarten playground.  You know the place where lies ran rampant and the teacher did her best to instill in us that telling the truth was the right thing to do.  Of course if she couldn’t get through to us, then our parents sure could.  Ah, but that was back in the day when actions/words had consequences.

Now adults have jumped on the band wagon and their children hear them telling fibs.  (fib- We’ve even changed the name because lie is too strong of a word.  It is really only just a fib. Ugh!)

I used to be shocked when parents would call the school (that I worked at) and tell lies with the intent of getting their child off of detention.  Really??  That is the lesson you want to teach them?  Or how about the parents that call their  child in sick when he just doesn’t want to go to school?

One of my jobs now is dealing with collections.  It has certainly been an eye-opening experience for me.  I used to take people at their word but do you know how many people lie when it comes to money?

Another ‘reason’ people tell lies is that they don’t want to hurt someone’s feelings.  The hope must be that they won’t get caught because lies hurt.

Then there is the exaggeration lie.  We all know people who are prone to exaggeration.  After awhile it is  hard to believe anything they say.

Why are we so afraid of the truth?

The key is, when telling the truth, you should wrap it in love, grace and mercy.   You don’t have to be mean, nor should you be mean.   There are times that one must be extremely gentle in telling the truth but still tell the truth!  Don’t sell your integrity short by resorting to a ‘white’ lie.

If I ask you what you think – I don’t want to hear what you think I want you to say.  I want to know what you think.  Those people who just want you to agree with them, well, they might stop asking you what you think if you start telling them the truth.  However, when they really want to know the truth, you will be the first one they come to.

Psalm 43:3 “Let Your light and Your truth lead me.”  (My paraphrase)  As we become more and more like Christ there is no room for lies.

Telling the truth means you never have to remember who you told what because you tell everyone the same thing – the truth.   A person of integrity knows that what she/he says matters.  Once you are caught in a lie your integrity in all other areas comes into question.  What a price to pay.

What do your words say about you?

I choose truth!

til next time

July 18, 2012 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, ministry | , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I also choose truth, even though sometimes it might be difficult.
    If I can’t tell the truth, I’ll resort to silence – but that isn’t the right thing to do either.

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | July 18, 2012 | Reply

    • yes, a problem with silence is that people may take your silence to mean you agree with whatever it is they said.

      Comment by Gloria | July 20, 2012 | Reply

  2. I agree, we should be known as people who speak the truth, in love.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | July 19, 2012 | Reply

  3. Um… I am concerned that in my comment above, I might be misunderstood. We should tell the truth at all times, with a loving attitude.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | July 19, 2012 | Reply

    • anyone who knows you PC knows that is what you meant but when total strangers are reading this it helps to clarify. 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | July 20, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

