Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

perspective

Sometimes you just need a little perspective.

When you look at this picture what do you see?  The Jolly Green Giant of course.  He is huge!  How huge?  Well, his smile is 48 inches wide.  Now that is a smile!

If you look closely, you can see me standing underneath the jolly green giant.  I am as tall as his boot.

Perspective.

It is hard to see me because I just kind of blend in with the trees in the background.  Yet I am there.

Perspective.

Sometimes I think we  are too busy focusing on the thing that is looming in front of us that we miss what else is going on.

Recently we spent a day at the Grand Canyon.

I remember thinking how vast it was,  how small I felt compared to the enormity of the canyon, and how great is God’s love for me.

Perspective.

Yesterday we spent the day with my mom.  She is battling dementia.  Battling dementia now that is an oxymoron.   How did that phrase ever get coined?  She isn’t battling it at all.  I am battling it.  She is going with the flow.  She is focused on the here and now.  I am wanting my momma back.

Perspective.

There were times during our outing that the ‘old’ momma came out.  Dementia may be stripping her of her memory but her personality is still there.  She is still spunky.  She still breaks out into song.  She still wants people to laugh!  She still cares about people.

Yet her illness makes me feel so small.

Perspective.

I don’t want to spend another day distracted by the demands of life.

Perspective.

I am grateful that God gives grace for each new day and that my joy is not dependent upon outward circumstances but an inward relationship with Him.  “This is the day the Lord has made, I will choose to rejoice and be glad in it.” (Psalm 118:24 my paraphrase)

Perspective.

Yes, sometimes I need a little perspective.  Thank you God for the reminder that in everything I face, You are with me.  When life comes at me fast, You are an ever present help.  When I feel small, You are right there holding my hand.

Perspective.

til next time

September 15, 2012 - Posted by | dementia, just thinking about stuff, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. My God is soooooooooo great.
    In perspective, any problems I face are so tiny as to be insignificant.
    What an amazing God!

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | September 15, 2012 | Reply

    • Amen!!

      Comment by Gloria | September 18, 2012 | Reply

  2. Thanks for such a great post! It really touched me – my mother has dementia, and it can be sad and frustrating at times, but it can also be a joy. You see, my mother has been very insecure her whole life, always worried about what others might think of her, but now, she just doesn’t care… Sometimes her wig is on lopsided, (in past times, that would have been dreadful for her), but now, it doesn’t bother her at all, as long as she is loved, visited and has something sweet to eat. 🙂 It’s nice to see her relax, but there are also times when I miss my mom too. Still, I choose to focus on the good things – like you said, it’s all a matter of perspective. Blessings to you!!

    Comment by cshowers | October 21, 2012 | Reply

    • I know exactly what you mean. I would love to live closer to my mom so I could see her more. I trust that others are indeed visiting her. Thanks for stopping by cshowers

      Comment by Gloria | November 29, 2012 | Reply

  3. […] Sadness:  My mother had dementia. For those who watch people they love go through the stages of dementia, well, there really are no words for what that process is like.   I praise God that He “is a safe place to hide,  ready to help when we need him.” (Psalm 46:1 The Message)   (Click here for more on dementia)  […]

    Pingback by five women « Living Life in a Fish Bowl! | December 31, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

