Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

feelings – control them or they control you

Feelings – everyone has them.

I feel __________— fill in the blank.

I’ve seen a big push for people to get in touch with their feelings.  Then to share those feelings and receive validation for said feelings.  After all, people can’t argue with how you feel.  It is your feeling.  Right?

Just because you feel it –  does not make it true, nor does it mean you should give your feelings a voice and speak them out loud.   Feelings are just feelings and you either master them or they master you.

As I have entered into perimenopause, getting a grip on the role feelings play in my life has taken on a greater importance.   I have found my feelings to be all over the place.  Just because I feel it doesn’t mean I should act on it.  In fact I shouldn’t act on what I am feeling until I have had time to pray about it.

Going to God in prayer and keeping His Word (which is The Truth) in front of me helps to take away the control wrong feelings try to have.

People who allow their feelings to rule over them have a hard time living a peaceful life.  All it takes is the actions of one person or just the thoughts of a situation to put your feelings in a tail spin.

A perfectly good day is ruined just because you choose to dwell on  bad feelings.

If you want to walk in victory and live in peace than mastering your feelings is necessary.

“Walk in peace instead of pieces.”  (C. Stankee)

Feelings tend to cause us to go to pieces.  They can have a downward spiral effect.

When we accept the saving grace, offered to us by Jesus Christ, we begin the process of lining up our lives with the Word of God.  This also means lining up our feelings with what the Word of God has to say.  We are to take every thought captive. (2 Corinthians 10:5)  Our feelings are a product of our thoughts.

Our feelings can be carnal.  Our feelings can be based on out right lies.  Just because I feel it, no matter how strongly, doesn’t mean it is true.  Making the decision that I will not be ruled by my feelings but instead rule my feelings will help me to be at peace in any situation.   After all, I know that God is in control and He will work all things out for my good. (Romans 8:28)  Lining up my feelings with that truth is key to me walking in peace.

The day I made the decision to place my trust in the One who loved me first; was the day my sins were covered with Jesus blood!  My life is no longer my own.  Christ lives in me.   He gives me the power to cast down wrong feelings, to strip those feelings of any power and to act on what is the truth regardless of how I feel.

Before accepting God’s gift of salvation we could choose to let our feelings rule us.  Our feelings would dictate to us how we would respond verbally, what we would do and the way we would treat others.

Now there are times we must take our feelings to the foot of the cross and leave them there.

“Great peace have they that love Thy law and nothing shall offend them.”  (Psalm 119:165)

Our feelings can harbor offenses, resentment, pity, hate……….Feelings can lead to a father leaving his children, a wife leaving her husband, sibling relationships strained, friendships ruined, bad decisions being made………. living a life where the tiniest thing can ruin a beautiful day.

Feeling expressed can do great harm to the cause of Christ.  Many a church has split over people’s feelings.  “… as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.” (Romans 12:18)  This is important if you want a life of peace.

Master you feelings.  You can change the way you feel.  Start by changing the way you think.  Are your thoughts pleasing to God?  “Let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable in Your sight…” (Psalm 19:14)

Extend grace and mercy to others.

Lead by example.

Let your light shine.

Encourage others to line up their feelings with the Word of God.

til next time

October 23, 2012 - Posted by | life lessons, perimenopause, relationships, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Truly, mastering our feelings is an area of Christian growth that we should focus on in our lives.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | November 8, 2012 | Reply

  2. yes it is!

    Comment by Gloria | November 20, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

