Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

timing

Back in the beginning of July my son and his wife started the process of purchasing their first home.  We are very excited as it is just a few blocks from us.  They closed on the house this past Wednesday.

They have their own ‘horror’ stories to share of yo-yo Dan the loan officer, but all things happen for a reason.  Timing is indeed God’s department.  This is a valuable lesson to learn.  Whatever we are facing, whatever the time frame, God is still the One we depend on.

This is the beginning of the end of a chapter in their life and the start of a new chapter.  You see for the last almost 10 months they have been living with us.  If you have read any of my other posts than you know that I love, love, love having my family home.

I was not a fan of empty nesting.  However, I know from experience that God has that all in control too.  Timing again is God’s department.

Change.

Seasons change — not just the weather but in our lives also.

Part of living a life to the fullest is learning how to handle change.  Part of successfully learning to handle change is understanding the truth that Jesus is the same yesterday, today, and forever.  (Hebrews 13:8) He never changes. (Malachi 3:6 ” For I am the LORD, I change not;…”

He is the stability we have when the rest of the world is changing all around us.  He is our helper when we need to make changes in our behavior and our thinking.

Change.

It is a new day, a new opportunity to choose to really engage in life or to just go through the motions.  It is so easy for me to get wrapped up in all that needs to be done that I forget to fully enjoy this day that God has given to me.

Change.

Let there be change in me as I desire to be more and more like the One who gave His life for me.

til next time

October 26, 2012 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, life lessons, relationships | , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. We go through many changes in life. I remember when the last of my five sons went off to uni and we were left on our own, and I wished that uni wasn’t so far away. I remember when they spread out thousands of miles away. One was in England for 12 years, another there for 6 years. Two of them lived on the other side of Aus, thousands of miles away. Now one is in New York, living in Manhattan and Sandy is approaching.

    What a blessing to know that my loving, omnipotent, Father God is in control! What a blessing to experience His abiding presence! What a blessing to know the REALITY of a life ‘in Christ’!

    Change? Yes, there are changes in life – but my God never changes and I am secure in Him!

    What an amazing God!

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | October 29, 2012 | Reply

    • How are things with your son in Manhattan? What power that storm had. Praying for all involved and now the clean up. Praise God that He is an ever present help in trouble.

      Comment by Gloria | October 31, 2012 | Reply

      • My son works for Bloomberg and Bloombergs moved him to a city hotel near the office, so he is safe, but I presume he is without power since we haven’t heard from him. The waters reached his apartment building, but he is on the sixth floor, so there won’t be flood damage. I think Bloombergs will keep him in the hotel until the subway is reopened and power restored in his apartment.
        We are praying for all those affected.

        Comment by meetingintheclouds | October 31, 2012

  2. Learning to gracefully accept change, and even embrace it is yet another area of Christian growth.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | November 8, 2012 | Reply

    • an area that will also have room for growth 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | November 20, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

